Poor guy a "Ragpicker" 'I said' :: Never Stop Dreaming 'he replied'

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello lovely people,

Today I want to tell you a story that gave me the biggest motivation of my life. Me being an average student in academics, maths and literature didn't attract me much. Science and politics, however, were the subjects grabbed my attention. But, this guy whom I met few weeks before gave a shock of my lifetime.

I have seen passionate people living for what they love and I have seen people giving up their passion just to meet daily expenditure in order to run a family.

So this Sunday,

kabaadi1.jpg

A beautiful Sunday morning, actually a lazy one waking up to mum's scream it is 11'O clock she said. Just after getting freshen up and had morning tea, I saw a stack of old newspapers that my mother kept outside to sell to the scrap buyer. I also noticed some of my books that she said me to sell, so I called a guy to buy the old newspaper and books.

There he enters

Me: how much for the old newspaper?
Dealer: Rs. 12 per kg, Sir.
Me: Oh, ok, weigh them all!!
Dealer: UUHH! Sir those books too?
Me: Yeah all of them.

newsprint.jpg

*As he was putting all the books one by one, I noticed a book that I did not wish to sell.

Me: Hey, Wait, Wait, wait, put that book down!!
Dealer: Sell it, sir, it will only gather dust at home.

Pulling it out myself,

Me: No!! I don't wanna sell it.

He weighs the whole sack and says

Dealer: Sir this weighs 40 Kgs and will fetch you Rs.480 ($7 appx.)
Me: Ya ok, give me the money.

Eyeing on the book in my hand

Dealer: Sir, give it a thought I will pay 10% extra for that book.
Me: Told you already, I dot wanna sell this book, 'I shouted', just give me the money for those you bought!!

kabaadi 5.png

Whole of the above conversation is going in Hindi

He gave me the money, I started shutting the door now, puts his hand inside and to block the door and politely asks in English

Dealer: Sir, Excuse me, Sir? Can I please borrow this book for two days?

In India Hindi being the primary language, It was very astonishing to see a Ragpicker speak very fluent English

Me: You look educated and you speak like one, Why do you collect scraps? , Why are you into this profession?

Dealer: It is a scrap for you, sir, for me these are my degrees that I have earned!! he said in his zealous voice
Whatever I've learnt, It is because of these scraps only he also added

I was impressed, in fact, I wanted to smile but I held on to the serious face. Opened the door for him

Me: come inside, let's have a chat.

Now, we are sitting opposite to each and out of utter curiosity, I, am not able to resist asking him

Me: Tell me about your degrees

He tells the story:

kabaadi 7.jpg

Sir, born and brought up in a poor family father had small scrap business and he was not so educated, but, knew the value of education and wanted to educate us. Sometimes luck doesn't support, When I was 14 he passed away leaving behind a younger brother, an unsettled business and mother being a home-maker. So, I had to take over his profession only in order to run the household and earn living. Had to drop school, but I never stopped learning. After that, I grabbed scrap, started learning from books that I bought in scraps, literature books, comics being my favourite.

Had a desire, sir, (his vehement eyes) to know a little more, to learn a little more!!
It is like they say Never Stop Dreaming (an ardent human said). Also, I have interest in politics so if you lend this book to me I will be grateful sir (said taking the book in hand)

I was happier than to be stunned, Yeah you can keep this book, but I want it back within 2 days.
To which he joyfully replied Yes sir I will definitely give it back to you within 2 days

Learning

Hard situations doesn't take away your hobby if you are passionate about it

As this guy had a passion for reading and learning. We all must have had some thing that we did not follow. Comment down below.

Thanks,
Prabhat

Follow me @prabhatchugh


Resteem | Upvote


Sort:  

Truly inspiring

Thank You!!

Touching story..

Indeed!! I wish I had 10 % of him

Wow what a conversation. Very inspiring 😢

Thank You man!!
I wish i Could capture the spark in his eyes!!

This is really good!! Amazing story!!

What a wise man!

Thank you for sharing!

Love it.

Glad you took your time to listen to him.

Speaks a lot about you as a person!

Thank You!!

Glad that you liked it!!
Thanks for your comment!!

Thanks!!

Thank You!!

nie post @ prabhatchugh!!!

Thanks!!

That is an absolutely amazing story. Just think, it came right to your door. A real life story with an incredible human being. We should all be so fortunate to meet him. This would be good for National Geographic or something like that.
Thanks for sharing this once in a lifetime memorable story.

Glad you liked that story man!!
Wish National Geographic would have been on steemit!!

This is once in a lifetime story!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68094.05
ETH 3777.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71