Life...When The Electricity Goes OffsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago


Image Source
So today at around 13.55 (that’s in the afternoon 1.55pm) the electricity went out in our town, as far as the eye can see.

The shops all in a panic…no credit card or bank card transactions possible, unless we have cash we cannot buy. The world as we know it is coming to an end.

What can we do if we can’t shop?
Humans are taught they must consume every day, that’s what good humans do, isn’t it?

we live in what is supposed to be ciiviiized country, yet some days the electricity will go off for an hour or 2…sometimes 4 or more hours.

At least it’s not winter, no heating in winter could be terrible. But no cooling in this season Autumn (Fall) is also not all that pleasant, and on top of that… It buckets down rain and the sky turns a very dark grey, is it the world ending? Why am I still here if it is?

Can I live without electricity? Will I live? Am I dead… or still living? I feel like Schrödinger's Cat right now.


Image Source

‘Can’t open the windows, as one of our cats, Betty will try to get out to claim a tasty Pigeon for herself and end up falling again. It has happened before.
Constant vigilance, meanwhile the temperature rises in the apartment.

There’s a strange silence, no more wirelessly streaming my Spotify playlist, no more web surfing, in fact no more WiFi, the internet is non existent right now…life continues but I am missing it, if I’m not careful the FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) will rear its ugly tentacles and squeeze my soft brain matter until I feel the debilitating effects that FOMO will bring to me.

Image Source

I’m not quite foaming at the mouth yet.

Of course without electricity I could not microwave my lunch (Oh No!), Luckily there was a lighter in our kitchen.

Image Source
I was able to light the gas stove to cook my eggs & mushroom with sliced chicken lunch.

Yes I do eat lunch late.

Cooking today involved more dishes than I would have chosen to use, microwaves make one dish cooking so much easier and less messy too.

Still waiting for the tell tale clicking, buzzing and little lights of the electronic devices to tell me they have come back to life…Been waiting over 2 hours now, I guess this outage will be for a while…

Oh no I can’t stream my TV shows to my big screen… Will I survive the night? No TV Argh!, it IS the end of the world.

I note the charge on my computer is down to 72%, when it gets to 0% there will be nothing left to do but curl up into a tiny ball sucking my thumb until the the magical electricity returns to bless our town again.

The people will be able to do their duty and consume, and of course WiFi will return to bathe us in it’s healthy(?) waves, once again the apartment will be full of electrical energy being sent to all the devices, and they will spring back into life dutifully doing what they are designed to do for us.

I will post this when the electricity brings my modem, router, WiFi and internet back to life again so I may send this post to the Steemit community.

Update: as of 16.58 (4.58pm) there is STILL NO ELECTRICITY! (3 hours and counting), there is almost horizontal rain buffeting the building, and I just saw a lightning flash and heard a thunder clap.

Why does lightning flash and thunder clap…? Is it strange performance art for our eyes and ears?

It is very windy. We may be in for another stormy night…

I hope the electricity returns soon, it’s getting darker early this afternoon, and… I’ve just started foaming at the mouth.

…and now it’s 18.00 (6.00pm).

...Finally life can resume at 19.55 (7.55pm).


Image Source

Sort:  

I do like lihe way you write, and in this I see the reference to Schrodinger's cat quite clearly. No hydro makes you feel both dead and alive together.
Upvote & resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05