You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basic Survival Camp Equipment

in #life6 years ago

Thanks @liberyworms I guess it can depend on where you get your food from and while I have done OK with that here in the UK you sound like you have a good alternative in doing it yourself. In the long run I would always encourage people to do what you said and get a vac sealer, a dehydrator etc. and then you have a lot more control over your food. I stopped to think about it though and wondered if this was an extra step that might slow people down or put them off, especially if they were new or recently getting started. I totally see your point though, and I suppose it wouldn't hurt to go into more detail in a future post about what I've found to be more wholesome in the pre-packaged food ranges. I've had some awful crap ones too, and over time I have narrowed down to some which I am happy to take on expeditions and which store well in my long term larder. Thanks for stopping by to comment - I appreciate that! :-) Always enjoy people's comments, especially with such helpful suggestions as yours.

Sort:  

You could use it as an introductory to prepping article because you do hit a lot of good points and then write more detailed articles on each topic. I use to prep but now I homestead. The two run hand in hand on so many things except I have a long term food supply with livestock and crops unless I have to leave and then it goes back into the mobile prepping area. I think a lot of preppers would starve to death before the seed banks they have would produce anything since growing food is not as easy as they make it seem as far as just adding seeds into the ground especially here where it is all sand.

That's another very good idea thanks, I may do just that :-)

I suppose we are almost smallholders here, with our crops, chickens, bees, and other animals and things that come and go. Foraging is quite bountiful in these parts too. We are lucky because we live downhill from a spring, and our property has effectively been carved out of the hill by what used to run as a brook but which is now channeled by us and the farmer nearby. We are also lucky because in this part of Wales the rain rains probably more than the sun shines :-) If you dropped a seed here it would flourish.

Even given the bounty here, people would still starve because they just don't see it any more and they need it pointed out to them a lot. Lots of brilliant farmers, smallholders, preppers, homesteaders etc. here too, and I have learned so much from them.

I am learning from you too @liberyworms so thank you for your insightful comments :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39