You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media: Interaction or Noise, Life or Death

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So well said, @anibas. It is an interesting phenomena this thing we call social media, which is in essence sticking our head in this box called a computer and trying to connect with others doing the same thing. Imagine how it would be to attempt to describe this strange thing we do to ourselves back in say the 80's or even the 90's, when the internet was just starting to take off. I think it would sound like ETs had invaded our world and taken over... LOL

I love the way you ended it with saying,

"Joining people is a choice, it means wanting exchange - real and meaningful exchange - or else it is death, and I don't have time for death right now.

There is life to be lived!"

I totally agree. Thus, I spend less and less time on Steemit and actually found your post through my Minds account where you also posted. Thanks for sharing it, as it does make me really think about this almost addiction so many of us have and why that may be.

Sort:  

Hey Positivesynergy I originally was going to say that I genuinely thought that Steemit exists in a category then Facebook or Twitter but as I started typing I totally changed my mind. I worry about my use of social media, it has the capacity to be extremely useful as a tool for acquiring knowledge, forming communities and maintaining relationships. The reality? It just isn't. I think there is not enough concern given to the effects social media is having on our children. This is my thinking

We like to play off the effects of social media on children as trivial. It isn't front page news and we dismiss regulation because it seems overly restrictive and ultimately impossible.

Looking through history at the social events that eventually lead to massive change, we see tiny events. We see slight shifts in perspective, or strange social responses to natural phenomenon. We are undoubtedly still feeling the impact that the invention of telegram had on our societies, in how it changed communication between people and thereby shifted some of our perceptions and consequently our social structure and systems.

In the last 15 years, the way our children learn and grow and psychologically develop has changed drastically. The ability to instantaneously video communicate with anyone on earth, s new. The gamification of social status, that's scary and it's new. In fact the invention of the smartphone gave every access to everything.

The reason I'm saying all this, is because I sometimes I try to look almost retrospectively and think 'What good impacts could this have in the future and in what was could this positively develop' and I'm quite hard streched to think of anyway it looks good.

I'm rambling...

I agree the impact of social media in the future worries me too some. I'm more the out of the box sort of person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32