Rising Above Our Adversities

in #life7 years ago (edited)

At times we tend to whine and complain, and we feel that we are placed at a disadvantage because of our weaknesses. It seems impossible to reach for our dreams, with the odds stacked against us. However, these weaknesses and disadvantages that we have can actually be turned into our strengths. Of course, this is easier said than done and will take great effort, sacrifices and most of all persistence.

Case in point is deaf singer Mandy Harvey, a contestant in the popular TV show "America's Got Talent". I really rooted for her when she sang her original song "Try" beautifully with great passion. Her heartwarming rendition of the song earned her the Golden Buzzer from none other than Simon Cowell himself. The entire audience was spell-bounded by her amazing performance and gave her a standing audition. You can watch her performance here and judge for yourself.


Video Source

The question that we should ask ourselves is how can we be like Mandy Harvey and rise above adversities. For those who are interested to turn their weaknesses into strengths, I would like to suggest the following:-

Embrace Our Weaknesses

Acknowledge and face head on, any weaknesses or disadvantages that we have. We need to realize that is our weakness and disadvantage that makes us unique, and differentiate us from others. In the case of Mandy, it is because of her deafness that makes her performance so powerful and unique.

Thinking Outside Of The Box

We need to be able to re-frame the circumstances that we are in so that these becomes positive and empowering. We have to be on the lookout for situations where we are able to turn our disadvantage and weakness into our strength. We can reflect on our lives from different perspectives and choose one where we can emerge victorious. It has been said that every cloud has a sliver lining. So in whatever situations that we are in, look for that sliver lining.

Our Struggles Make Us Stronger

We can only imagine what kind of trials and tribulations that Mandy has to go through. For starters, she could not even hear her own voice. If she has given up half way, all would have been lost. So we must remember to pick ourselves up each time we fail. Never, never let self pity gripped hold of us. As we overcome each failure, our dreams become one step closer.

Raising Above Our Weakness and Disadvantage

As human beings, we tend to focused too much on ourselves and our problems. At times, we fail to realize that others too have their own struggles and have their own cross to carry. Therefore as we journey in this world, we have to become more human and reach out to others who are in despair instead of being in a state of merely existing. Despite our own weakness and disadvantage, we are still in a position to help others, and it doing so we not only lighten the burdens of others but our own burdens as well. As we raise above our weakness and disadvantage, we are able to grasp in our hands those which we thought were previously unattainable.

Cheers
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, resteem and [follow me](https://steemit.com/@positivesteem

Sort:  

Great Post @positivsteem! Following and upvoting from this VERY NOW!!

Thank you so much for your support.

Thank you too for dropping by. Please follow me for more.

I think part of the puzzle is in determining what is your craft. I discovered early on in my life that I was not going to become a sport's star or a good singer / musician, for example. I have tried many things in life, but marketing and crypto seems to be my thing. Nice post, by the way. I resteemed and upvoted!

Thanks for your support especially for resteeming. Yes we need to pursue those things that we are inclined to.

I love to see thing's like this it gives me hope and ecouragement, I have been house bound for the last four year's due to illness and awaiting operation's. It has been a bad ten year's all in all. So I feel I have to live again, I lost friend's and time but on Steemit I hope to make new ones. I can never get the time back but I intend to do a good job at trying to make up for it. 🕉

Wishing you all the best @ginasarasini. I know it must be different to be house bound. I am glad that you have found Steemit which can be a good channel for you to socialize and express yourself. Thank you for your comments.

Thanks. Do follow me for more

Our struggles absolutely do make us stronger. Probably my biggest take away from this, personally.

Great post, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for dropping by and your encouragement.

Do follow me for more.

That s great ! Upped earlier , back to resteem ! Best of luck to you ! 👍👍👍👍🚀

B"H! G-d we can be such an amazing people when we hear and encourage each other...

Resteemed.

Thanks. Encouragement makes the world a better place.

Indeed it does! Yw^^

WOW, this is one of those great examples! Someone who we shall have as a role model when we need it.

Agreed with you. She is an inspiration for all of us.

very nice post.

Thanks for the comments and for dropping by.

good post, i upvote it! We really think the same way about many things =)

Thanks for your support. Yes we have very similar thoughts. Do follow me for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63