I'm turning over a new leaf -- Amelie, Wonder Woman & Sincerity

in #life7 years ago

Hi Steemians!

They say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.

Likewise, I've started to think cynicism is the easiest form of entertainment. It has self-awareness built in, and, as such, it insulates you from criticism and negative feedback.

Doing Popcorn Lobotomy, particularly the Scathing Reviews series, has always made me a little uncomfortable, and I could never fully articulate why.

In watching Wonder Woman, seeing the critical response to it, then watching and analysing Amelie for a Rap Review, I started to glimpse the truth. And, to understand the ways in which I wasn't being authentic in my content.

I think, all along, it was the knowledge that, in coming at things from a negative and cynical point of view, I'm putting myself above the material at which my cynicism is directed. However, while the criticisms may or may not have been valid (Transformers II remains a god-awful film) , my position above the material was never EARNED.

So, with that said, I present my very first attempt to change all that. I'm going to be positive, I'm going to take risks, and I'm going to speak from the heart. If it earns me ridicule, so be it.

At least I'm trying to evolve.

This review was inspired by Just Write's video "What Writers Should Learn From Wonder Woman", and it's discussion about sincerity and bathos:

And finally, here are the lyrics:

Verse 001:

While Wonder Woman gets accolades;
for bringing back sincerity;
I really take exception
So today, let's talk Amelie;

Sincerity's not humourless,
War, violence and strife;
Ya want a chick slashing Nazis
Or a celebration of life!?

Wonder Woman's got action,
A hottie in states of undresses
Amelie transcends mere film,
Engaging all five senses

People say a film is visual,
So show and don't tell,
Amelie's the next level:
It has taste, touch and smell!

Verse 002:

Audrey Tautou;
What an awesome performance!
She would have made this film great
Even directed by Roger Corman!

Embodying charm and charisma;
And beauty and grace;
You love her like a little sister
You just wanna pinch her face!

I'm not gonna say that
I don't find Tautou hot;
But she's so goddamned CUTE;
Ties my stomach in knots.

Representing everything;
that's wholesome and pure;
If she was naked before me;
I'd give her a tickle, not dick her, for sure!

Chorus 001:

-- I have no words;
To say why Amelie's so great.
I just hope you watch it;
Don't approach it with hate.

Recall when you were young;
A wide-eyed dumb kid.
When money and power;
Didn't dictate what you did.

When you looked at the world;
With wonder not fear.
And you weren't too ashamed;
To shed the odd tear.

No cynic inside you;
You let your heart glow.
Optimism is brave,
Cynicism's, just a defense, you know?

Verse 003:

This is Jeunet's masterpiece;
His world view through a lens.
Collecting memories for decades;
Revelling in every sense.

It's gorgeous, it's light;
It elevates the spirit.
No violence, no swearing;
No ugliness in it;

It even celebrates sex,
Not treated with kid gloves
What's this propensity to censor
The expression of love!?

But we celebrate violence,
Let the rivers run red!
Maybe our priorities;
Should be turned on their head?

Verse 004:

I'm jack of cynicism:
"There's no lightning, just thunder;"
"Positivity's for pussies"
"Optimism makes me chunder"

"Being child-like is ummature"
"Humans fight rape and plunder!"
"People are a plague!"
It's too much for this punter.

Life robs us of our innocence;
So fast it's no fun to
Look at how society
Thrust humans asunder

No matter what misapprehensions
You might labour under
Amelie's more Wonder Woman;
A woman with childlike wonder

Chorus 002:

-- I have no words;
To say why Amelie's so great.
I just hope you watch it;
Don't approach it with hate.

Recall when you were young;
A wild-eyed dumb kid.
When money and power;
Didn't dictate what you did.

When you looked at the world;
With wonder not fear.
And you weren't too ashamed;
To shed the odd tear.

There was no cynic inside you;
You let your heart find it's glow.
Optimism is brave,
Cynicism's, just de-fense, you know?

Outro:

Amelie reminds us;
When we'd stop and smell the flowers.
Ride a bike down to the creek;
And skim stones for hours.

The beauty in the world;
It's too easy to ignore.
It's time we brought it back;
And reject the things that we abhor.

Sort:  

What a beautiful castle! Great pictures! @popcornlobotomy

Yeah, thanks... the... er... castle was definitely a highlight... !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63013.55
ETH 2460.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64