Discussion : How do you think about the scary pictures on cigarettes?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Warning: Please respect the opinions of others. I want to put this to discussion without starting fights! Remember that not everybody will or can accept the way you think about something. 

For a while now there are disturbing pictures shown on cigarettes and tobacco packages and I wonder how it effects you, makes you feel or how you think about it. I am interested in the opinions of the smokers and the non smokers. Why do you think its a good thing or bad thing? For the smokers, does this effect you and in what way?

^^ This is my tobacco package I have right now and it shows a picture of a rotting foot and says in Dutch: Smoking will clog your arteries. It also shows a number you can call if you want help giving up smoking. 


My opinion and how it effect me.

At first I had a big mouth and said that pictures like that would not get to me. Truth is, they do.
I am a big smoker and use 2 packages a week. I think 95% of all smokers, if not 100% know that smoking is really not healthy and I think a lot of us smokers think about stopping but we never do. I have seen pictures of someone having a heart attack, a child inhaling smoke, a rotting foot and one with a hole in the neck. I am rather aware of the fact that smoking can make me sick, very sick. Every time I pick up my tobacco and see the picture and big letters on it, I get a reminder of that simple fact. Does that effect me? Yes, it sure does. But will it make me stop smoking? Honestly, I don't think it will, at least not really soon. I saved a old package and I started to take my tobacco from the new package into the old so I don't have to see it all the time. Blind? Maybe but it also shows that those pictures really get to me and maybe one day it might result in me giving up smoking but right now I play ignorant. So, I do think that this might work and I do see it as something good even though I am a smoker. Double, double, double... On the other hand it also makes me wonder why on smoking and not on bottles of wine or something stronger? Why not show crashed bodies on a bottle of Vodka? Or is this something that already is in progress? Will we buy frozen burgers with pictures of a male having a heart attack on them soon as well? Are we going to create a world where these things are going to be standard?

So, that is my opinion and I am really interested to read the opinions of others. 

Reminder.

Warning: Please respect the opinions of others. I want to put this to discussion without starting fights! Remember that not everybody will or can accept the way you think about something.  


Sort:  

They're gross. They make me wanna puke. I feel they are exaggerated sometimes, but they're efficient on me: I don't smoke. I hate the smell.

Thank you for sharing your opinion about this subject!

I think they ought be efficient if not immediately then over time,

I think so as well, for me it kinda works already seeing I am hiding them.
Thank you for your input!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26