Exploitation and Abuse: How Should I Advice A Friend

in #life6 years ago

Hello everyone again, for today's post I will be posting a not weeb related post and I think this is the most relevant post that I will be posting in the present time.


image

I had been into cryptocurrencies for a month now, some of my friends introduced me into this space with me expecting nothing much out of it but rather just enjoying the experience out of it. I was really grateful that there is such a thing such as Steem that can at least help people express their selves while having the chance to earn out of it. Steem sounds a dreamy scam whenever it is heard for the first time by people who had zero knowledge about crypto. I was like that too before but not anymore.

Anyway, this post isn't about if either Steemit is a scam or not or if people doubt it. I have friends that earn and live out of Steemit and I trust those friends so I trust Steemit as well.

My post for today is about a friend who had just recently grew financially out of nothing. From zero he gained a decent amount of wealth via Steemit after posting for several months(I wish I could be like him in the future too,XD). Now the problem is, this friend lives with his parents and his parents used to treat him like garbage. The way they treated him changed when his parents learned that he was gaining real money out of cryptos.

image

To share more things about my friend, he has been my friend since childhood and I really know him really well. He dropped out of college because he knew that wasn't the place for him. He always talks to me about his dream of becoming big in the Anime industry and such that he studies night and day on his own with his pen and notebook.

I can still remember seeing him on net cafes scribbling his notebook while reading on the computer to learn Japanese, art and animation. He indeed is passionate. But because his parents wanted him to become an engineer his parents treated him like some kind of sh** regardless of all the hard work he was doing. Hence, he did nothing wrong to deserve this treatment, all he did was to reach his dream with everything he can.

image

About the abuse, his parents used to order him around a lot. They make him wash the dishes all the time and they were a lot of dishes. They make him do shopping everyday, feed the dogs, wash clothes, fetch water everyday, clean the toilet and many more. My friend says no complaint about it despite of it being an obvious abuse because he believes that he deserves it and this is the payment for the path that he chose.

I saw his dad shouting on him and physically hitting him at times because he cannot do the instruction told to him one time. So you can see the picture here already, this friend of mine was a victim just because he chose a dream that his parents aren't familiar with. Man, his dad and mom says a lot of hurtful things to him even he stays silent all the time. He indeed had endured a lot, and as his friend, I look up on him.

image

And then he learned about cryptos and Steemit. With his talent, he gained some money free crypto. He earned and kept on holding them, he almost never withdrew, he just kept on HODLing. Until this recent bullrun last December.

He bought his own PC, applied for an internet connection and bought things that would improve and enhance his craft. His parents was astonished with all the money that they saw, it was like impossible. I was there when we brought in the new PC and his equipments, the atmosphere of the house was so different. He used to be bad mouthed a lot and be frowned upon regardless of his relevance in the household.

His parents who used to say bad words and shout on him a lot now talks to him pleasantly and now his chores has been lessened. He still do dishes, wash clothes and such but not as much as before. He now pays the electric bill and the internet connect. He also contributes in the food with occasional buying of meriendas.


image

Now here is the problem that he has been telling me recently. His parents borrowed money from him and he lend them what they wanted. After several weeks, his parents are now asking for more money for more household expenses other than just the electricity and the internet. The parents wants him to contribute for half of the food expenses.

You see, his family feeds a family of 5 grown human beings(with him included), they have a lot of dogs(around 12-15), and feeds his grandparents on another house(he brings the food to his old folks everyday). His parent was complaining that the food expenses was too big and they want contribution from him. His mother asked him already about it twice in a somewhat provocative manner that lead him into talking to us, his friends.

He told us that his parents was pushing responsibilities that he hasn't chose like bringing that food to his old folks, washing clothes that aren't his and f***ng feeding the dogs even though he wasn't the one who chose to keep all these dogs. And now they want more money despite of him taking full responsibility of the electricity and the phone bill?

He told his parents that he cannot withdraw right now because the market is in a bear right now. Well, in my opinion, he shouldn't do so, his parents haven't paid what they borrowed yet he should focus more on his game instead of thinking of these garbages that used to believe that he was garbage.

So what do you guys think is right?
image

I told my friend to move out from his home now that he can afford it but he still hesitates to do so. I think he hesitates for a reason that he hasn't told us yet but I think that is the best option that he should do here. He can live out of Steemit alone, Steemit is the most relevant platform I had ever saw(financially wise and accessibility wise). He has a dream, and these garbages cared nothing for his dream or even did they cared for him. All they cared about is money that they gain with their incompetent ways. And now, because he earns more than everyone in the household with everyone combined, his parents wants to squeeze money out of him?

This guys has a dream and he needs more money, that is why he brought this problem up to us. What he earned right now is something that he will use to do his long time dream. What do you think guys? I want to shoot his parents right now. Or maybe not, they are garbages that don't deserve any attention at all. They don't even deserve being mentioned in this post, I just did it for my friend... Grrrr... Me so mad!!!

Thank you for read, have a nice day! :D

Sort:  

Your post was selected to be included in my "Diamond in the Rough" series. It's goal is to promote high-quality posts made by new steemians (red fish and minnow) thereby helping them get the exposure they need to grow and thrive within the Steemitverse. You may check the related post Diamonds in the Rough @sandalphon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51