Well that was fast

in #life3 years ago

I set a record!

Playfulfoodie

Alright, from the top. A few months ago, I found a job opening which seemed to hold a good challenge for me while still holding some familiar territory. I was still recovering from being overworked (although, let's call it for what we discovered it definitely was now: A big, fudging burnout. Again). I wanted this job, so I applied, but told them I had to take a few months to recover first. I got those months and took things slow. By the end of it, I felt good, I felt ready! I was excited about the job and started it a week ago on monday. Filled with good hope.

By the end of monday, I had a headache and was tired as heck.

Tuesday, second chance. I could not concentrate most of the day and by the end of it, I started wondering if this was 'normal', or if it was more than just the 'stress of a new job'.

Thursday then! Third time's the charm, right? No. Full head, no concentration and by the end of that day, I was wondering what the heck I had gotten myself into.

Weekend came and I talked with mum and hubby about this. I thought and I thought and by the end of it, I was kinda sure it was more than just the new job stress thing.

Then it was monday. Today. I went to work again. Tried my best again. Managed to concentrate some of the time and read a bit, but still, my head felt full. Cloudy. Dizzy. In the afternoon I had a chat with my boss and told her everything. She wasn't surprised and had basically seen me regress by the end of the first day.

We talked a bit, but both agreed I wouldn't be able to get there anytime fast, even if she gave me some extra help. We both believed in my abilities, but my head's just not working right. Basically, that 'overworked' (big, fat burnout) thing from my last job hit me harder than I ever realised.

So! After day four, I'm jobless again! Fastest they'd seen.

Hey, atleast I'm good at something!

I will now proceed to prohibit myself from looking at any kind of job offers. LinkedIn e-mails are OFF and I'm going to try my best to give myself a big, fat break for the rest of this year. Which is so very hard for me, because I feel like I should do something. I'm already wondering what the heck I'm supposed to do with the rest of my life, given that my brain is the thing I've always managed to depend on most.

For now, I'm going to have to try and let it all go. Take it easy, do things I enjoy and relax. I hope I'll manage and I'm sure hubby and mum will be reminding me.

Atleast there's one upside...: All the time in the world for New World!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

Sort:  

I’m sorry to hear that you no longer have this job as I remember you were quite excited about it in your previous post. I’m pretty sure you did your best and after all everything happens for a reason @playfulfoodie I also remember you mentioned that you wanted to do some gardening before starting this job to begin with. So I wanted to say that now it’s actually a great time to add some colour to your outdoor space and consider some autumn flowers: cyclamen, heather, pansies. It is also a fantastic time to plant some spring flowering bulbs. You can layer bulbous plants based on when they flower and choose colours you like best. If you feel like it on a dry sunny day and get some gardening project started, you can also post about it here and share how you’re getting on. Just a thought 💁‍♀️

Thank you so much for the kind words and great ideas @petface! There's actually still plenty of stuff to do in the garden indeed. Although flower-wise, the previous owner (or their gardener) really thought things through and I basically have all sorts of pretty colors all from early spring to late autumn :D
Forgot to trim some hedges though... and oh my gosh the weeds! I have adopted a "If you don't look at em, they're not there" attitude... I maybe should rethink that, now that I have the time!

It is fantastic that you've got a variety of colours in the garden @playfulfoodie Have you maybe got some garden birds coming to play in your outdoor space? Now with most of the butterflies and bees nowhere to be seen, I enjoy seeing my resident robin, which sang in the rain today, few tits and even goldfinches. They are sometimes messy eaters but I have designated them two areas in the garden where they made themselves feel quite at home.

I also tend to postpone jobs like trimming and clearing the garden and then I end up doing them at weird times, like Sunday night for instance. They'll get done eventually but you need to be in the right mood for such a task. Last year I got a pop-up garden bag for putting all the cuttings in and then dragging it to the bins. It's quite fun when it actually pops up so that's at least a cool start of my trimming experience. Then I usually get carried away and do it for too long and then I am exhausted but at least it all looks better.

Yes, we have many birds in the garden! We usually have a lot of bees and butterflies aswell, which is so nice to look at. Now, with some of the hedges trimmed, a little birdy will sometimes hop around outside of my window. So cute :-)

They'll get done eventually but you need to be in the right mood for such a task.

Yeah, that's mostly it. And it needs to not rain all day long. throw some trimmings in the bin, but use the smaller ones for my composting pile. Which is quite handy, because my bin will get filled up quite quickly during this season.

Sorry to hear. Sure you will find something less stressful to earn money :)

For everything there is a time, but the mental attitude plays an important role.

yes I believe in you, You are good at something.
New opportunities will coming your way.
God bless my friend

It is good that you meditate on what happens to you, and that you balance by taking a break, we are sure that in the future you will get some ideal job for yourself. Greetings.

Don't worry to much you will get a new job, Best of luck.

Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90