Sort:  

You should try it, sometime -- watch some paint dry or something like that :))
Thanks @pitterpatter -- Have a good holiday!

I will do so today, but, it probably will give me long needed time to play on my internal playground. My best ideas comes from sitting still. I'm my best comedian/entertainment and I'm cheap, too!

Being still and daydreaming is not boring to everyone because the state of being bored is subjective. Pitter-patter wouldn't be bored watching paint dry any more than she finds meditation boring because the act would become meditation.
Bertrand was a great thinker and I find many of his quotes spot on, but not this one because he has redefined boredom into something objective.
For me the old statement holds true, "only boring people become bored." I find that people who constantly need stimulation are only fun in short stints and rapidly become dull.
Boredom is never a gateway to brilliance, learning to enjoy stillness is.

I guess, everyone sees things differently...

Very true, partly because their inner dialogue is different and this changes as people age, apart from Narcissists who rarely if ever change.
If I think back 36yrs and imagine being ten then, "I'm bored there's nothing to do" or "no-one is doing anything, adults are boring!" seems like a familiar dialogue, but it just amounted to my expecting to be entertained without taking responsibility for my own entertainment and using my imagination constructively. Taking responsibility is what ends boredom and allows creation to occur.
So, being bored and overcoming it is something that almost every person goes through, eventually, but advising someone to try to be bored is akin to telling them to, "grow-down".

Actually, I take back what I said about Russel-his quote was great and he doesn't make boredom objective, he makes fear of boredom objective, which it is. He doesn't say that boredom is a good thing or that is should be pursued, he just says that people should deal with it.
His quote, when properly analysed, doesn't actually illustrate your point.

I guess, everyone sees things differently...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44