EMBRACE THE DETOURSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

May 2017 REI Co-Op in Winter Park, Florida had their GRAND OPENING and it was truly Grand. Has anyone heard of this Outdoor Sports Store? Does anyone have one in their town?



 WHAT AN AMAZING STORE! They forced me, with all their creative vision, to pull out my samsung Edge7 Android and take countless photos. The store was set up by the store employees in a few days. The design was all their own which made it even more awe-inspiring.



I do not work for REI Co-Op, but, I am an excited new customer. I am seeking adventure out of this "same old same old life." I've gotten lazy and complaisant with the soft life. How did this happen, I wondered as I stared at the moniter before me 



I use to be sooooooo active and into outdoor fun and games. This store is inspiring and may just be what I need to get out-of-doors and be mobile/energetic again.


https://www.rei.com/map/store


The American company, REI   stands for Recreational Equipment, Inc. > It's organized as a consumers' co-operative. "Consumer cooperatives are enterprises owned by consumers and managed democratically which aim at fulfilling the needs and aspirations of their members. They operate within the market system, independently of the state, as a form of mutual aid, oriented toward service rather than pecuniary profit. Consumers' cooperatives often take the form of retail outlets owned and operated by their consumers, such as food co-ops. However, there are many types of consumers' cooperatives, operating in areas such as health care, insurance, housing, utilities and personal finance (including credit unions)." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consumers%27_co-operative 


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/REI


If you are in need of adventure and an
outdoor-oriented vacation planned out for you REI Co-Op   is a one stop place to get all your needs > the equiptment > gear > clothes and even fun courses to prepare you and the family.



" REI has diversified its offerings into global adventure vacations through the REI Adventures branch, which began in 1987. REI Adventures offers vacations for active travelers all over the world." wikipedia



REI bought Adventure Projects Inc.in June of 2015, a Boulder-based company. It was founded by Nick Wilder and Andy Laakmann in 2005, which is known for its climbing website, Mountain Project



There are guides to over 128,000 climbing routes > internationally. That's a lot of maps/guides for adventures outdoors. 



Since 2005 REI Co-Op have expanded by creating MTBProject.com > Mountain Bike trail maps > hiking trails > Backcountry Skiing Trails > Cross-Country Running Trails



I don't get out much for adventure but this store and their wonderful staff have fired me up! 430 N Orlando Ave, Winter Park, FL 32789 · (407) 647-0731



ENJOY THE PHOTOS and please leave a comment on your adventures and if you have a REI Co-Op near you.






All photos are mine taken by the Edge7 Samsung Android ► edited with lunapic.com ► picmonkey.com ► befunky.com ► unless credited by link
“EMBRACE THE DETOURS" Kevin Charbonneau
Sort:  

Great piece of content, me and my wife love being outdoors. Tom Jr., too (I guess). At his two years of age he still can't tell (:
I'm glad you commented on my article and I found yours like that.
Best
T.

Thank you, Tom. Sorry for my late response. I thought I replied but can see that I did.

That's no problem at all (:
Have a great Monday!

It looks like a great place!

Thank you @kus-knee. I appreciate your encouragement and support.

Fully agreed!

I'm about to go hit the trails behind my home!
Lovely day to you :)

That sounds wonderful. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I thought I made a reply for you but must of done it for someone else or it magically disappeared.

Oh no worries :)

Lovely day to you!⭐️

Great post, co-ops are the future of the economy!
Image of dksartRegularSteemit

That is a great thing to hear.

Cool post!
I used to frequent the one in NYC
Thanks for sharing & steem on :)

Thank you for your comment. Was their store as big and have a similar design to it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73