The Broken Compass - Part 1

in #life7 years ago

80e0cd70a6c76ccc74e4bc6d7fe00d68.png

I am interested in so many things! I have studied so many too. Some would think it's inspirational or admirable. But here I sit as a multi-skilled, multi-passionate woman, who has no idea where her life is heading or what avenue to pursue.

In the last two years I have been a dog wear accessories designer, collars and leads. This was fantastic as I love animals. I shipped my products all over the world and got to meet some incredible people and their pets. But, as often is the case inSouth Africa, it got harder and harder to find my hardware. A vital part of my manufacture. Yes, of course I could just order it fro overseas, but only in bulk. Living from hand to mouth as a single mom, this could not happen.

Next venture was clothing design, something I had never done but surprised myself by getting rail space in a very well known shop and being invited to showcase my range at a designer show. All in a month! Unfortunately, marketing, manufacturing all on my own became too hard and the money coming in was not sufficient so I changed course. Again!

I was sitting sewing one day when I recalled a line from Paul Mckenna, "if you were left in a strange city with only $100, what skill do you have that could increase that amount?"...something along those lines. Lightbulb!! I cook, and I do it well. I used to make vegan food for a market years ago and people loved it. So, laptop in between my machines, I threw a line out to a local Facebook group and had over 200 emails in 24 hours. Path changed!

I was suddenly busy! From getting into famous markets with waiting lists, retail store enquiries, invites to cater at amazing events, even overseas. Problem was that I could still not sustain my little family without the capital to grow my business. It takes money to make money, even if you disagree, I've been there.

Now months later, I have moved far away from my home, Cape Town, the place where my heart is. I moved to a place where I have no friends, no history. I have not worked in two months, the market for what I do is very limited here. So again, thinking cap on ....what skills do I have?

In my years of interest exploration I have become a Reiki Master, Usui, Gold, Imari Ki and Kundalini Reiki. I studied to become a Chakradance Facilitator too. With a passion for music, psychology, art and people, I have now developed a therapy which I know will help many people. I reached out to some people, people I do not know. Within a week we have booked our first workshop for 10 people. last night I met someone who is a counsellor at a Rehab facility who is interested in what I do. Perhaps this is my path?

Years ago a friend, an intuitive healer and psychic told me my purpose was to heal people. I, in all my ego, denied this. How could I help anyone?

Perhaps she was right.

Dorothy should be my middle name, I am always following the yellow brick road, perhaps the Emerald City is not to far away....

efd3d52e36ba16db7adea7cd1497983e--color-yellow-mellow-yellow.jpg

80e0cd70a6c76ccc74e4bc6d7fe00d68.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @pistolknickers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44