☎️ The Phonecall

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This is one of those “A-HA!” moments after which your self-consciousness changes in a brief moment. A phonecall that I had just a moment ago.

It’s my older son on the other side. Without saying “hello” he asks:

Daddy, is it hard on a work? Are you really tired now?

Whoo… An honest question. He’s only 6. I mean, children of his age shouldn’t ask so fundamental questions. This is not an easy task for a parent. I have to answer honestly, but not to discourage him. So I thought for a moment and answered:

Sometimes it’s really hard. But it is when you make a product of this work when you don’t feel that it was for nothing. You’ve made something great and you feel great. Ok?

Oh… maybe it’s too much for him to comprehend. Although he replied:

“Yes”

And I wanted to change a subject so I asked him:

And how was your day? Have you been somewhere?

And than it happened - the moment I’m talking about:

Me and Mika (my 4 year old son), we went to the supermarket. Alone.

And it’s 10 minutes by foot for grownup. Some 20 minutes walk when you walk with kids. So I corrected him:

You mean alone like - alone with your mother?

No, just Mika and I.

And this was confirmed by his mother (my wife), over the speakerphone.

And finally, after 6 years, I realized that they are growing up. And that another challenge is starting for a parent that thinks that the street is so dangerous for his kids because of the traffic, because what if kids loose orientation, will they remember the way back…

And this challenge is totally different from teaching them, playing with them or cooking for them. And this is what it’s all about in life: you have to give them freedom. Freedom from yourself. And this fight will last. And I will have to loose willingly because it’s only if I loose - he gains a true freedom. And I am excited and I am terrified.

Please tell me what’s your view?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71