How I get out of bed easier in the morning

in #life7 years ago

It is getting colder here in Australia, as winter is approaching. I find it harder to ditch the snooze button and get out of bed. As an attempt to kick my lazy ass out and do something productive, here are some of the things that helped get my feet on the cold floor at 6 am. Some of these may seem odd but it does help with motivation.

Gardening

I look forward to seeing my plants everyday when i wake up, sometimes a flower may bloom or new seedlings may sprout. The whole point of it is surprise, the mystery of what my plants look like after growing overnight is motivational. Starting your day with a relaxing activity can also keep you calm for the challenges that lie ahead of the day.

Putting my alarm far away from bed

like most people, I use my phone as an alarm clock. Having it out of bed's reach means I have to get out of bed to turn it off. Bonus points for an extra annoying song, playing at a loud volume. Having your phone out of your radius means getting out of bed to check for messages.

Early morning duties

Having an indoors dog means I have to feed it breakfast and take it outside to relief itself. Especially overnight where my dog has no access to the garden, in the morning he waits for me by my bed for me to wake up, occasionally scratching me and sometimes jumping on top of me. Being responsible for another being's basic needs gives you that extra reason to get up. But this doesn't just apply to dogs. We all know how hard it is to sleep with a full bladder. Waking up to nature's calling on "lucky" days have been one of the fastest ways I have sprung out of bed before.

Skincare

I like to do my skincare routine before I sleep, I look forward to seeing what a mess or success my skin has become overnight. Did that pesky pimple go away? Or did new ones pop up from using this new cream? The mystery of my skin's new state makes me excited to go to a mirror. Having a morning skincare routine is also a way I pamper myself, it does make me feel good about myself and is something I look forward to.

A delicious breakfast

Making a delicious meal overnight that requires zero effort to prepare the next day can make your life a lot easier. Knowing that I can walk straight into the kitchen with breakfast all ready is the closest thing I can get to breakfast in bed. If you do live with someone who wakes up around the same time as you, having them cook food for you or heat up the food you made is incredibly helpful, because the smell can waft to your room and make you hungrier.

But the problem is still there sometimes..

I still struggle occasionally with sleeping in too much. Aside from the obvious techniques such as getting adequate sleep, these random activities have helped tremendously and I now get out of bed when I want to more consistently than before. I find that creating a relaxing morning for yourself is important to start off the day with a peaceful state of mind and a boost of energy.

Sort:  

Will try these techniques next time I go to bed :p

good luck! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47