Why You Should Never Leave Cryptos Stored On Exchanges...My $40,000 Mistake!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I know we've all heard this one more than once. Like most, I knew better but kept my entire portfolio on one anyway. Everything in my account was from 2 solid years of mining, staking and trading, almost half a Bitcoin.

At the time, Bitcoin was in a slump and had dropped to just over $300 each and I had decided to just hold everything on Cryptsy. It was like Bittrex is now, the "go to" exchange and seemed so very solid. Deposits and withdrawals always flew in and out and I never had a single issue. I even went as far as emptying all my wallets on various computers, and started a small portfolio for my son.
JAY CRYPTSY SCREENSHOT.png

Well as you probably know by now, Big Vern who ran Cryptsy took the money and ran , leaving his wife and home and went to China. Hell he's probably who's putting all this big "new money" into crypto currently!

Anyways, the other day when the new blockfolio app came out, I entered my Cryptsy holding from screenshots that I had somehow saved. They are below,sob...

Screenshot_2017-06-06-14-25-12.pngScreenshot_2017-06-06-16-33-06.png

my sons:

We all like to keep funds readily available, but it's really risky friends! I am still guilty, I have a good amount on Bittrex currently just so I can set sell/buy orders and move quickly. I panic every time the site takes a little long to load or becomes sluggish.
Anyways, learn from my mistake and keep anything that is for HODL, in a wallet staking if it's POS, or get a Bitcoin hardware wallet. I have all my long-term hold coins encrypted in wallets on 4 different computers and the backups saved on external hard drives. Bittrex or Polo or Cryptopia may get me again one day, but they'll just get the mule, my"PUMP MONEY" and not the whole farm!
#crypto
#cryptsy
#liveandlearn
#bigvernsucks

Sort:  

Wow! I'm sorry for your misfortune but greatful for your knowledge and letting the rest of us in on this important information.

Thank you for sharing! It breaks my heart that you lost that much money! It's really sad.

thanks but who's to say I would have held it all until now anyway? Coulda ,woulda, shoulda,lol

Thank you man. You are my spirit in Buy and HODL strategy !!!

Surreal @pipertomcat.

I'm really sorry that bad things happen to good people in this world. Perhaps cryptos are not the answer we've all been searching for. Thank you for sharing and perhaps helping others.

All the best my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72