Top Class Education + Zero Life Skills = FAIL

in #life7 years ago

I am very, very grateful for my childhood education and I got a lot of out it.

But, knowing the difference between a sedimentary and a metamorphic rock does not help me do my taxes, manage my money, or invest for the future.

When it comes to handling the psychological and emotional stresses of daily life, knowing how to calculate the circumference of a circle is not particularly helpful.

Kids need to learn life skills.

Is it on purpose, that they don't teach these things? They don't want us to know how to deal with money and investments otherwise we'd be too smart, powerful and harder to control?

I dunno.

All I know is that I WISH someone had taught me these things when I was younger.

Sort:  

Wondering when did I use the knowledge of a boat going downstream at the speed of x miles an hour, while the speed of the current of the stream being y...what all trash they taught us... Two trains passing by a varying speeds .. let them pass by na..Zzzzzzzz....zzz..

And why did they teach me trignometry and log tables...:(

Hahaha oh my god, log tables. ;p yes, I'll remember to use a log table next time I do my taxes. :)

Believe me, there's a reason why I think school is a waste of time when they force us to learn shit like the names of crustacean limbs and don't teach us how to work with other people, do taxes, handle emotional stress, etc... I was never even properly taught how to do research and I didn't learn how to write an essay until eighth grade. Like, really?

I'm only just seeing this comment! Couldn't agree more. As they say, teach children HOW to think not WHAT to think! I wait for the day of the educational revolution!! :)

I eagerly await the day that educational reform comes! Hopefully it's within my lifetime; maybe I'll even get to make an impact on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01