I Am A Powerless Indian Woman... Or Am I?

in #life7 years ago

Here's how life rolls for a typical Indian female:

You will be told how to live, think, look, act. You will not do what you want, you will do as you are told. You will not break the cultural rules and bring shame upon yourself and those around you. You will be submissive, you will get married and look after your husband and do as he tells you. You will cook and clean. You will have babies. You will serve. 😕

Here's how life rolls for me:

I do what the hell I want. 😏

But, I have to battle decades (in fact, generations) of shame and fear based conditioning every day, in order to do that. 💪

IT'S A CROCK OF SHIT. 💩

I'm not gonna lie, it's really tough. 😣

Dealing with the never ending question 'when are you going to get married'? Because, that's apparently the most important thing in the world. 😒

Getting the looks of disapproval. The judgement. The emotional blackmail. 😰

Holding back my truth for fear of being berated. Being told that I'm wrong and bad, because I don't follow the rules. Handling the shame that involuntarily washes over me even though I'm not really doing anything wrong, I'm not hurting anybody. 😳
Sometimes I think - why me?? Seriously, why the fuck?! 😩

YET, I AM GRATEFUL 😄🙏

If I didn't know how it felt to have my power taken away, I wouldn't know how great it feels to regain it. 😃

If I didn't know how it felt to have my life directed from outside, I wouldn't know how it powerful it feels to direct myself from within. 😋

If I didn't know how it felt to be rejected for who I am, I wouldn't know how freeing it feels to accept myself. 😌

SO IF ANYONE TAUGHT YOU THAT YOU ARE POWERLESS...

Thank them. ❤ Don't blame. It's not their fault. They are only doing what they know. They are asleep.

But, by them being asleep, they help YOU TO AWAKE. 💫

And this, my dear souls, is the greatest gift anyone can give you. 🎁

Receive this gift. Claim it. USE it. It is the most valuable opportunity that exists in this world. No money can buy the experience of stepping into your own true power. Trust me. 🙏

<3

Sort:  

:raised_hands::raised_hands: Lovvve seeing this kind of self-empowered content on steemit. We need more of this!! I'm brand new here, and looking to connect with other yogis + seekers - any tips on where to find these people (in addition to you of course) would be much appreciated! Looking forward to follow your journey - Jason

@jasonsnow thank you! Yes, I love all things personal growth :D I think there are many posting on this stuff here - I tend to look in the 'life' or psychology' section for their posts :) look forward to following your journey too, enjoy Steemit! xxx

Break the shackles of the system you were born into and regain your birthright of freedom! Thank you for the empowering message!
You've been F.U.R.R.'d =)

YES! That is the mission. Thank you @blaineb :) xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64