Crying for Wimps? Not at All!

in #life7 years ago

Crying for wimps? Not at all! So don’t try to stop your upcoming cry session. Dutch research shows that crying improves your mood. So people, let it go!

60 persons participated in the study. They had to watch for like two hours in a row very emotional films, also known as famous tearjerkers.

3186695309_8abeb43de2_b.jpg

Before the film started, all subjects had to give their mood a number. When the movies were finished they had to give a number to their mood again three more times. Immediately after the completion of the films, after 20 minutes and after 90 minutes.

Tears.jpg

The participants who were not weeping, their mood virtually did not change. The participants who were crying went through a little emotional rollercoaster during the film. Shortly after their crying session they felt average less good. But after 20 minutes their state of mind was similar to the level before the movies. However, after 90 minutes they felt even better than they felt before the movies started.

So get your tissues ready!

Sort:  

crying is discouraged but it's crap, we all need to let it out, God knows my pillow shows it :/

lol. But in the end, true!

I have to be honest, I have only openly cried twice in my 30+ year lifespan. It is not because I am tough but rather not tough enough. I envy people who have the guts to show their feelings so openly!

Thanks for sharing; I am movie-cryer. Always works for me; just old school classics make me cry (The Green Mile, Saving Private Ryan etc etc)

Notice how a crying person looks and a person with a cold looks. They're virtually the same. When you think you're coming down with a cold, try crying it out as you're going to sleep. This works for me every time. I wake up dry and well.

That's a great advice, thanks. Didn't know, but sounds quite logic though.

Ummm! I agree totally crying releases tension, but 'weepy' films as a research guide? I would have accepted this more if they had a range of depressed people to measure - don't know how they would have done it mind you! Great post though. X

Hahah, I totally agree. Strange research though, but too brilliant not to write about! Haha, thanks.

We all need to let it out sometimes. :)

That is so true! I feel blessed I actually can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55