Yaw-Yan (Filipino Martial Arts)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Yaw-Yan, also called Sayaw ng Kamatayan or "Dance of Death" is a Filipino hybrid style of kickboxing developed by Napoleon Fernandez. Since its inception in the 1970s, it has dominated the kickboxing scene in the Philippines and has proven very effective against other stand-up fighting arts. (Wikipedia


After getting attacked by a drunk guy last 2010, I enrolled in Hybrid Yaw-Yan for self-defense. Those mutha fuckas gotta learn some lesson. I'm going to kick his ass when I see him again. I'm grateful I have a great trainer; Sir Henry Kobayashi was able to teach me some deadly martial arts technique that I can use in times of danger.

sir Henry in his younger days :-)

Whenever I train at his gym, I always sweat like a pig. The warm up exercises is just hard. It's not the actual session but I'm already sweating like I did a  10 kilometers run. The thing that I enjoy the most is mits hitting with Sir Henry. I love it coz it's a stress reliever. Like if I'm angry, I hit it harder and punch it like a maniac. But he said I shouldn't act like that. I have to relax and punch nicely.

On my last session, I hurt myself

Well, it's nothing serious. I just had blisters on my toe. I attended Coach Jojo "Anghang" Tabang's class.  He's nickname is Anghang meaning spicy. They call him that coz when he fights it's so hot and spicy. Hot and spicy like when you eat a chili pepper, no you have choice but to endure the spiciness. He is like that, he likes to train and give pain to his students.

Excuse me for this graphic pic... I posted that photo on Facebook and this is what he said, "Having blisters on your toes also shows that you're really twisting when you punch. Meaning you're doing it right." Damn, no pain no gain?! It was really painful, I'm telling you. I have to use adhesive bandages after that sesh. Next time I'm going to buy a muller tape. 

sir Jojo in one of his glorious match

Aside from Yaw-Yan, they also have a fitness and circuit training at the gym. It's kinda similar to HIIT (High-intensity interval training), perfect for those who want to burn calories and increase metabolism. To give you an idea, here's what we do: 

hammer the tire

 

ride 'em cowboy!

jump like a baby boy!

After each session makes me feel like a contestant from the reality TV show, The Biggest Loser. There are times that I wanna give up, but I paused and say to myself. "You expected it, just embrace it!" Then I will go back on track again. It's all in the head. If you think you can do it, you can do it. =)

My favorite workout is punishing my tummy. I don't wanna say abs because I don't have it yet. Teehee! Sir Nic Balbuena also taught me a lot of abs workout, stretching and perfecting my round house kick. Here's a photo of me kicking his shield. =)

Have you guys tried Yaw-Yan? Please post your comments below. :-)

sources: 1 and 2

Sort:  

Hi, nice to see a fellow FMA enthusiast on Steemit. Is Yaw-yan striking focused, more on groundwork or combination of both? Btw, Upvoted & followed :]

more on striking and dancing like capoeira. :)

Nice, looked up a few yaw-yan Youtube videos after reading your post and it does look very effective. Cheers and best wishes in your martial journey. 👍

Yeah hopefully I become the female version of Jackie Chan. That would be so cool! I will get to make Rush Hour movie with an african american woman and we will be talking shit to each other. That would be funny! 😊

Nice post .up voted your post dear

thanks mate! do you also practice MMA? :)

Love your post.

It's a new knowledge for me about this Filipino martial art. Thank you.

The history of Filipino martial arts is very rich and I wish that more and more people would know them.

I'm not an expert but I practice arnis from time to time just by watching Youtube.

But I will definitely have my daughter learn martial arts at a young age specifically arnis, krav maga and aikido and maybe this too.

Wish there was a gym like that here in our province.

Then I'll be from this

To this

Cheers :-)

Haha nice gif! Yeah enrol your daughter to any MMA school you think she will enjoy. Starting at a young age is definitely a big plus. :-)

Yeah, I wish my parents would have enrolled me in a martial arts class when I was little.

It's hard to do it at a later age because bones are more stiff lol.

it's never too late man. BJJ is for everyone. No matter how old or young you are, small or tall. You'll be surprised with how many techniques you can do. Choking, grappling, guard, triangle, erything is doable! :)

Thank you for the advice. Yeah, if my daughter will train, I'd join too, it's good for the health plus bonding.

Cheers!

whoa. some good pics showing this great martial art. thanks for educating me. Remind me not to mess with u. :P

You should try Yaw Yan when you have time. Okay I will remind you so I won't kick your ass. :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pinaynomad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Good to hear you choose Yaw-Yan, I myself also a lifetime member of this martial art I got my membership card here in Cebu. It is truly good for yourself it can help you defend against bad guys especially today where crimes are very rampant -- Happy steeming @pinaynomad 🤗

Nice! What's the name of your instructor in Cebu? :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54