You're lucky if you can afford luck

in #life7 years ago

I come from the land of India. The land of the spices. The land where we believe in superstitutions more than we believe in people. I want to tell you about one such story that made me realise how luck and prosperity was not where I put my faith in ; rather I. The complete opposite.

Post Diwali, an Indian festival, I won a lot of money playing cards. It's a tradition to play poker-like games on Diwali and in that game I got two 50 rupee(indian currency) notes. One of them was a brand new aqua blue coloured newly launched note. I thought this was my lucky charm and I made sure I never lost it never used it and kept it with me like a part of my body. It was all working magically for me. I was making money, getting work, having great days and even better nights ;)
But one day, I got up in the morning and broke my ankle while walking. Very soon after that I caught food poisoning that very day and by the end of the day a series of not-so-happening events had ruined my day. The shocking thing was that I still had that note. But you know what changed ? I had gotten two 50 rupee notes on the evening of Diwali. One of them new and one of them old and torn. That day I didn't keep that old torn 50 rupee note in my pocket.
Not everything that flashes will make your life flashy and gloomy. Dont judge a book by it's cover, guys. Respect the value of everything. Not many even have that old 50 rupee note to define their luck. Some just need it for a meal.

Sort:  

I prefer to belive in fate than luck and superstition. Then I don't have to carry any lucky charms or do any superstitious rituals. It takes time to shake off some habits but I think it's worth it.

Haha yes. I personally don't want to believe in any. You know what I mean ? But it's just that somethings are so engraved in our systems that we choose to believe in them when we feel they are working in our favor!
Also, my main focus through this story was on visual appearance and how it.can be deceptive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54