Our love story

in #life7 years ago

They say you know you are inlove when you struggle to fall asleep, because reality is better than your dreams. I always thought that kind of love didnt exist, but it really does... I just want to share my love story, because I honestly do feel like the luckiest girl alive and as someone who never thought it would be possible, I am grateful that I have found my person and my other half.

Before David my relationship history was a nightmare..

Firstly, as someone who has always had bad/toxic relationships I honestly feel I accepted the love I thought I deserved.. as an alchaholic/addict I chose men who were broken (most of them addicts too) just like I was, it was a terrible match as you can imagine... dating such men was always one fight after another and I chose one abusive partner after another.. my self worth and self confidence hit an all time low.. eventually I got myself into rehabilitation and I started to love myself, slowly again.... and realised no matter what, I will never go back to someone who doesnt respect me, adore me and want to see me succeed in life. I realised I deserve that, and that in itself was a little victory.

Love happens when you least expect it... as corny and cheesy as it sounds it is very true.

David had moved down from Johannesburg (which is a two hour flight away from Cape Town,) after also having a series of bad relationships... He moved next door to my parents, in Kalkbay, Cape Town. We saw each other every now and again, but he was in a relationship so he avoided me and I did the exact same... I found him very attractive and super mysterious...

After a couple of months, his relationship with his girlfriend ended. Hallelulja! He is friends with my father, as they are (.. well we are now) neighbours.... He was over at my fathers house one night, having a drink with my family, when I arrived late he was sitting at the kitchen talking to my parents and my brother... funny enough they were talking about me as I arrived and to be exact... my past, failed relationships and poor taste in men ( I only found this out a couple weeks later) It was very awkward, I didnt want to look too interested nor be rude... he left shortly after.

A couple weeks later, I was having dinner at my parents house and I hear someone making a racket, trying to start a motorbike. David purchased vintage motorbikes a week or so before and was trying to get them started... I was smoking a cigarette outside so I decided to pluck up the courage and go talk to him, drenched in sweat there he was with a smile and a kind of shocked look on his face... we greeted, I kissed him on the cheek and we started chatting. We chatted for about half an hour and I knew from then on, we were going to be spending some time together.

After chatting, we exchanged numbers, I said goodbye to my parents and went to my apartment.. as I opened the door my phone rung, it was David. I was so excited, but let it ring a few times before I answered ( I didnt want to seem too keen..) we chatted for about an hour, the conversation just flowed, it was easy, honest and real... I knew I was in trouble. firstly he was my parents neighbour and secondly he was 15 years older than me.... I now realise none of that mattered, but then my head was spinning... he landed up messaging he was at a restaurant next to my apartment would I go meet him, I declined... I was in my pjs plus I really didnt want to look desperate and I was super confused... nevertheless I messaged him and said lets do a coffee on the pier the following morning before I had to go to work, I collected the coffees and met him there bright and early.. we sat chatting for ages, laughing and just having a wonderful time... we walked towards a tidal pool and once we were there, he kissed me. I didnt expect that, but I went with it...

From that day on, we were inseperable, whether via phonecalls, messages or in person. He was in a casual relationship with a another woman, which he had to end before we could really be together.. those were my terms anyway... and he did end things with her, the rest is history.

I moved in with him on Valentines day, as he asked and i did, this was only two weeks after we started dating, but I just knew. When people say you will know when you know, that phrase has never been more true. He is my soulmate. He is kind, funny, charming and always puts me first. What a contradiction to my previous relationships..

We had struggles in the beginning with my mother, accepting the relationship, she just didnt want to see me get hurt and she was worried about our age gap... 



all I can say is dating an older man is the best thing ever.

He treats me like a princess everyday

He opens my car door for me

He lets me walk first and on the inside of the side walk ( I never knew that was the gentlemen thing to do, but apparently it is)

He wipes my tears away and plays with my hair when im upset 

He puts me first

He tells me im beautiful everyday, without makeup and he means it... I can see that.

He is so kind and so gentle.

I am so so lucky <3

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed my little love story..

Love, P

Sort:  

romantic couple

Congratulations @piajessica! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice story. Thank you for sharing!
Upvoted and followed! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56