The afghan that changed my life.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

There is nothing quite like having long term depression, it's almost impossible to explain to someone who hasn't experienced it, but a stray glance when you are caught of guard can convey the sheer hopeless emptiness to someone who has in a split second . 

 A little under 2 years ago I was stuck in a particularly bad low, not as bad  as some of the spells I've had over the last 23 years, but I was fighting a losing battle everyday i could feel myself sinking lower and none of my usual coping techniques where helping.

But then I met Sophie. (look how beautiful she is)

I was mindlessly scrolling through facebook when Sophie appeared on my screen, sparks flew I was instantly in love with her. The link was to a week by week crochet pattern called Sophie's Universe my heart sank i knew i was useless, that I'd never be one of those magical beings that create such beauty with just a bit of wool and a hook. Every sunday a new update appeared more beautiful than the last, I started asking my friends who could crochet how much it would cost to have it made £300 - £400.  I was out of options i'd have to try to forget about her or try to make her.

It was time to get stubborn.

I spent £50 i couldn't really afford on yarn and a hook and sat watching youtube tutorials for 3 days, every time my negative self wanted to give up I looked at pictures of sophie held a ball of wonderfully soft yarn in my hand, I could almost see myself curled up on the sofa with the children drinking hot chocolate.  By the end of the 3 days I had 11 odd looking granny squares and one glorious beauty (that in hindsight actually looked like the cat had chewed some yarn and spat it out) I was so proud of myself yet my negative self kept insisting I was useless.

"I'll just try and get to part 4" I told myself

 Over the next week my sophie started to grow, one day I spent 2 hours in tears unravelling the work i had done berating myself for making a stupid mistake I wanted to quit. I calmed myself down picked my hook back up until Sophie looked like this.

The whole family started cheering me on

 Every stitch improved on the last. I wasn't useless anymore

It took 4 months to reach the last stitch!

I had achieved something I thought was incapable of.

And now every time I feel useless I sit on the sofa with the children, drinking hot chocolate wrapped up in my permanent reminder that I can do anything I set my mind to when i get stubborn.

Thanks for reading

Phoe xx

PS The crochet didn't stop there I'm now working on my own afghan pattern. I've published the pattern for the central motif here on steemit. 

https://steemit.com/crochet/@phoenixmaid/alice-motif-crochet-pattern-us-terms-skill-level-confident-intermediate-advanced

Sort:  

How lovely that you found crochet ~ I make doilies when times are tough or I feel down. The counting and repetition are soothing to me. Absolutely beautiful work on the afghan, its brilliant💜

Epic! :) such exquisite patterns.

This is so great!! First of all - Sophie is gorgeous!! You should sell lots of Sophie's if you can. But I LOVE that you persisted when you felt down. Most people wouldn't have tried or would have given up when it got hard. You're obviously the kind of person who can do anything they put their mind to. That is really clear & you've proved it to yourself. I want to give you a hug! It's awesome that you're family cheer you on, you must be so proud of them & yourself! You should definitely embrace it, don't let slow momentum get you down - I personally know from making and trying to sell art how discouraging it can be when you have poured your heart & soul into your work & you don't feel that it's noticed & can't pay the bills even though you work so hard! It's hard! & I'm still there - I intend to keep working hard at it,making sure I never lose passion for my art, & seeing where it takes me. The alternative is to give up & I think both you & I aren't that kind of person. I hope we can support each other! I've just decided to write a post about it - bare with me as I have some work to do before I get attached to Steemit for the day!! I am addicted. Best get back to the workbench! Lots of love, Trixie Kiddo!

Thank you for such a beautiful comment. I don't think i could bring myself to actually part with a sophie for money she is definitely a project you make for someone you love. I'm looking forward to reading your post.

You make some lovely crochet.Can't wait to see what you make next.

Sophie is beautiful, you did a fantastic job, i tried to crotchet but couldn't get past the first line, I may try again after seeing how well you have done .

You did an amazing job here! Loved the Sophie, loved your story as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67