What Kind of Day Involves Unlimited Drinks, Food, Music and Rugby? It's LADIES DAY of course!

in #life6 years ago

Close your eyes. Picture this, it's a beautiful, blue sky Saturday morning. It's a cool 22C (72F) but the sun is out so the temperature feels just about right for a day of unlimited booze and watching guys slam into each other repeatedly (for fun might I add!).

This might be a typical weekend for those who regularly drink and watch sport but I personally just do one or the other. I don't usually like to drink whilst watching sport because, well, I tend to lose concentration on the game pretty quickly.

LADIES DAY...should be every day ;)

Sadly it's only once a year but it's a very special day however, as it's the Sydney Irish Rugby Football Club's Annual Ladies Day!! My husband played for this club last year and we attended what was a very fun day so I thought this year we'd go again and I brought some friends along this time :)

It's basically a normal Saturday where the 3 grades play rugby but this time they add in unlimited drinks, food and music for the ladies only so you get a whole truckload of women who come out of the wood works either cheering on their partner or....you get "women on the prowl"...meow.

Let's take a look around

This guy is our unofficial mascot, Frank. He attends pretty much every single game but there were a few other dogs on this day so I think he was a little jealous and didn't like his 'top dog' status being threatened haha.

Of course we had a little rugby thrown in there too!

I absolutely love the atmosphere because they always play this Irish 'hype' music (my name not theirs haha) when the boys run onto the field and it really gets the crowd going!

Main Event is of course the Ladies Kicking Competition

Ok anyone that knows me will know that I am extremely competitive so I came prepared. I specifically wore my boots instead of heels (not football boots of course, cannot sacrifice my style lol) so I could give the competition my best go.

...how did I go?

Well I tried to find footage of me kicking but um it's pretty embarrassing and I missed...it's harder than it looks to get it between the two posts!! BUT I like to say that I half won because of this picture:

Huh? What is this? Yes I know this picture looks like a fashion "don't" but in fact I lent my boot to a girl, hence why I am wearing a sandal with a sock, and this was her attempt:

I KNOW! She got it right in the centre!! What an amazing kick from her! I like to take credit for it as she was wearing my boot which clearly got her the goal right? Haha no of course not, but it was a nice consolation prize for me :)

This is my husband and some other boys helping out on the BBQ and serving beers to the guys. He isn't playing this season due to his allergies but always willing to help out with the club so it was great to see him doing his part!

(P.S. Any Aussie will instantly recognise these sauce bottles, can it get any more Aussie than BBQ, Tomato and Mustard sauce with a sausage?)

Where are the ladies?!

Great question. Well see I have shown you all the pictures of the normal parts of the day. We watched the boys have a bit of a run around, we had a kicking competition and just generally had a great relaxed day right? Well yes, but of course the unlimited booze had a small part to play in my day...

But first, here's a picture of me and the Sydney Irish girls that I play Oz Tag with every week. Oz Tag is like Flag Football and we have a womens part of Sydney Irish that formed a team and I joined this season! It's awesome fun and a great way to meet new people and try to be fit.

(Can you guys spot me in the centre? I'm looking a little too happy here aren't I?)

Here's me with my friends and one of those ridiculous snapchat filters. I call it ridiculous because it makes EVERYONE seem beautiful but then I also love it for that same reason ;)

I was relatively fine at this point but as you keep scrolling you'll soon find out that my state started to decline...

It was only when I looked at my instagram the day after that I found a lot of random photos that I was taking and rudely commenting on!! Such as this one of my husband where I basically implied his future was to be a check out chick or serving food.

....and then this one of me dancing with a dog. Who's dog was this? Where did it come from? All great questions...

Let's end it on that note...

Overall it was a fantastic day, the boys ended up with 3 wins in 3 grades so that was a fantastic effort and I loved their celebration at the end (see video below).

Unfortunately for me I wasn't around for much longer after this as I think the allure of 'unlimited booze' called my name a few too many times!! I had a great time though and I was in bed by 7pm so who can complain about that?!

Granted it was a bit of a rough night and I felt rusty the next morning but nothing a big ol' fat bacon 'n' egg roll couldn't fix =P

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and see you next time!

@phamished xx

Sort:  

Would have love to attend.

This is a perfect opportunity to meet some hotties 😍

Seems like a lot of fun

Hahaha it was a fun day for sure. Irish people definitely know how to drink ;) I cannot even remotely compete!

lol

Glad you had a great time.

Looks like a great day, please update us on it.

No further updates until next years event 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56