Shark culling and shark finning

in #life7 years ago

Inhumane and cruel things people do to Sharks ¿The lord and ruler of the oceans?

maxresdefault.jpg

Let´s start off with a little preface. I love this planet and would like to make sure the earth will not be destroyed by ignorant people. I won´t mention any names, but it starts with a T and ends with rump. These words might sounds like a dreamer, a hippie or anyway you like to see fit, but I really think all the small bits will help. I am… and going to put a small focus of my blogging towards concerns I have about the environment or earth in general. So I hope you don´t mind and are willing to read about some helpful and informative subjects. This one is about one of the many cruel things we people do to sea animals.

Shark culling

Culling (n.) : > to reduce or control the size of (something, such as a herd) by removal (as by hunting) of especially weaker animals; also : to hunt or kill (animals) as a means of population control The town issued hunting licenses in order to cull the deer population.

Shark culling and shark finning has been become a topic of discussion after the statement Kelly Slater made earlier this year. Kelly Slater 11 times surfing world champion had commented to be in favor of Shark culling at Reunion Island. “I won’t be popular for saying this, but there needs to be a serious cull on Reunion Island and it should happen every day,” said Slater. This after the tragic accident of a 26 year old body boarder was being killed by a white shark. Soon after Kelly Slater rectified his comments in the upcoming interviews. He has known to be an environmental activist, therefore these comments came to many people as a shock especially coming from Kelly. I do however think that the fairly recent shark attack to competitor and friend Mick Fanning in 2015 did not made things better. It has now been 6 months, however it is still a sensitive subject.
150719125326-02-wsl-shark-attack-mfanning-1-jpg-large-169.jpg

My own first shark encounter

In 2011 I went for a 4 month trip to Indonesia, carrying only a small backpack and 3 surfboards. In the third month I went from Lakey peak in West-Sumbawa with a scooter to yo yo´s in East-Sumbawa. I went for an early surf. After half an hour in the water, I see this fin sliding through the water. First thing that pops in my mind! !!Freaking shark WAAAH!!. Calming myself, telling myself that there are more fishes in the sea then just sharks. After observing the fin for about a minute I realized it is a shark fin *Fuck! and it just went under *double fuck!. How fast can shark swim?! Questions like that popping in mind. It jumped out of the sea about 20 meter away. Surfers always say you can count your odds *joking around. You surf with 4 people you have 25% change, 3 people 33% etc… Well I counted my odds pretty high, considering I was alone in the water. I guess it was a 4 meter tiger shark, but who knows. That wasn´t really on my mind at that point. Heart pounding in my chest I start to paddle for the shallow reef. Made it without a scratch! I am scared for sharks, who isn´t? Let´s be honest, they are freaking scary and they could or might not attack at all. But still a risky business. I however do not think those emotions should take over considering a slaughter, culling or even in the matter of shark finning. We are in their kingdom. We aren´t supposed to be in the sea and if we are, we should be willing to accept the fact that we might not be the strongest out there. Instead of killing them we should inform ourselves and inform the people of the danger out in the sea. If you do look at the ratings at the moment we are killing them way more than they are hurting/killing us 1 to a million more or less.

Shark finning

Finning (v.) : > The act of removing a live sea animals fin, and releasing the sea animal back into the sea.

WhatIsSharkFinning_web.jpg

Shark finning is something I am just speechless about this. A really inhumane act. I actually just figured out how much sharks are killed by shark finning. It was unknown to me. That is why I would like to share this with you guys. ¡Each year up to 10 million of sharks are killed! As you might have read in the picture above, they sometimes even throw the shark back overboard .... while the shark is still alive.

8.jpg

Leaving him to his death sentence on the ground on the ocean, unable to swim or save himself. Cruel! Why do they cut-off the shark fins. A fisherman can earn money because of its demand up to $100 a pound. This all for shark fin soup. I read it is not even that delicious and I am not going to try it out. It has been served by the Chinese of centuries at special occasions, only for the wealthy. It´s demand only exist because of people are still eating soup. This does not only counts for shark fin soup, but also for blue fin tuna. Long lining (a fishing technique) meant to catch tuna, is not only killing tuna, but also catches and kills other sea animals; such as sharks, turtles and even sea gulls.

Please mention your comments below on shark finning and shark culling. Also let me know if you like to read about more personal experiences / stories. A big thanks to my first followers.
755cf8d86b589dc5aa79ec4440065655--shark-week-humor-shark-week-funny.jpg

References

https://www.marineconservation.org.au/pages/shark-culling.html
http://www.stopsharkfinning.net/what-is-shark-finning/
http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2005/06/0613_050613_sharkfacts.html
https://matadornetwork.com/change/7-reasons-to-ban-shark-finning/

Sort:  

Hey man nice post.
I think we shouldnt start a shark culling, since we already damage our environment and the oceans enough. Killing off the Apexpredator certainly wont help. Also Shark finning should be severly punished.

Id like to nominate the post in OCD

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Dorman thank you for your reply! Very well appreciated and please share this article. I totally agree that a shark culling is not the answer and severe punishment for shark finning. Cruel business. Sharks are and will be unpredictable predators, better to try to avoid them and let them be.
So please share and thank you!

Great topic, great post ... Resteem! ... saw you on @OCD , saw a great doc on this issue a few years ago, but don't recall the name

Congratulations @peterrupert! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi! I'm happy to choose this post for my Care To Read Crossword Contest. I'm posting a link to this post in my posts related to this contest. I wish it will send some more traffic to your post. Thank you for writing awesome content!

Hey! Why did you stop posting on Steemit? Surfers need to stick together :-)

Congratulations @peterrupert! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @peterrupert! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43