Why I've been off Steemit... The story of my sad loss

in #life6 years ago

It was Tuesday last week. The day had started so normally, with no hint of the disaster ahead.

images (1).jpg

I've thought about that morning a lot.

Should I have just stayed at home? Perhaps I should have just walked all the way, stayed fit, saved some cash... and avoided the bus where the dreadful event occured. Maybe it was entirely my fault, maybe I could have been more alert.

Maybe, maybe, maybe.

I'd left the house by 1pm, full of plans. My ifit link was secure around my right wrist, my G-Shock watch around my left. My bag was slung from my right shoulder across my chest to my left hip, containing my device's charger, The Firm by John Grisham --my current novel, and my notebook of story-ideas. It was all I needed to work. I was ready. Or so I thought.

Where I needed to get to was a few kilometers away, at the far end of the University of Port Harcourt, and I needed to be there by 1:45pm. I stay only a little distance off the campus so I wan't in too much of a hurry. In fact, since the afternoon sun wasn't scorching, I decided to walk the first half of the journey. I was still basking in the afterglow of the Easter celebrations. I was in a great mood. Nothing could go wrong, I thought. The Universe was smiling on me today.

I set off in a brisk pace, watching the blue lights on my fit band. After a while I drew out my smartphone from my pocket, but the battery was low and the screen dimmed --a consequence of the abysmal power situation we suffer. In the harsh glare of the sun, I couldn't see a thing. I gave up and stuffed it back in. I would check whatever I'd wanted when I got to a more shaded location. No biggie, right?

If only I had known.

I got to the halfway mark --the university gate, and quickly boarded a bus. It was a 14 seater, and I took the seat directly beside the driver. I'd taken the trip a thousand times, there was nothing new about it. I barely noticed anything --not the driver, not the guy beside me, not the dashboard... Except for two little quirks I found hilarious --the glove box was kept locked by a mechanism that involved a plier, and the radio's cassette player's flap kept swinging rapidly in and out at the slightest movement, or even touch, of the bus.

But they weren't important. What was important was the ever-shortening distance to my stop. I could see it just a few metres away! I glanced at my watch. It was 1:40pm. Just a few minutes to spare, but I was confident I would make it. I clutched my bag and prepared to alight.

That was when it happened.


Watch out for Part 2 of my harrowing ordeal! Comments are highly welcome, and resteems will be highly appreciated.

Follow me @petermarie

Sort:  

Congratulations!,@petermarie Your post has been upvoted by @reachout via the nigeria tag


Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn
Proudly sponsored via SP donation from @eturnerx , @rufans & @solomon158
Upvotes Benefactor : @bleepcoin & the rest of us
###### Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout
Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot (BETA)

## Also,We'd like invite you to the @eoscafe discord community https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE , be part of something great

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Holy shit! That was a lot of anticipation.. I'm hooked. I hope I get a conclusion in part 2 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.01
ETH 3734.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69