Tarantula Keeper and Proud!

in #life7 years ago

Fear the Walking Spider


The site of a spider is enough to in still fear into most people or enough of a fright for the poor spider to be greeted with a round house squashing leg kick to the head.

To me spiders are misunderstood. In a house they help with pest control, killing and eating flies, cockroaches and other bugs. A step further to merely allowing spiders to share your living space is to buy and own one as a pet.

I'm a Tarantula Keeper and Proud of it


Compared to your traditional pet, tarantulas are very affordable. You can easily keep them is a plastic box with some potting soil and piece of bark to hide under. They will not need to be taken to the vet which can be very expensive. They also don't eat much and are cheap to feed.
In most cases, the cost of the tarantula itself is the biggest expensive as well as feeding it. But there is a cheap way to feed them.

Feeding my Tarantulas


Most people who keep exotic pets such as lizards or tarantulas feed them on crickets. I prefer to breed my own cockroaches to feed my tarantulas. The cockroaches I feed on bits of fruit and bread. Breeding my own cockroaches means that I no longer spend any money on feeding my tarantulas. I have more than enough cockroaches to feed my tarantulas and I even sell surplus cockroaches to other exotic pet keepers.

Cost Effective


Tarantulas truly are a cost effective pet that can live more than 20 years in captivity. If you can get over the stigma of owning a weird pet as well as the tarantula fear factor you will have an interesting pet that you can observe and watch hunt its prey.

My Exotic Pet Care Site


I have a website where I write different care sheets for different exotic pets. You can check it out on pet care sheet.

Sort:  

Congratulations @petcaresheet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57681.36
ETH 2446.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30