Grass is always greener where you water it

in #life7 years ago (edited)

DSCN9529.JPG

In these 2 years that I have lived abroad I came accross different people who all came to this city with hope for something more than they can find at their original place. Most of the times they are searching for a source of income that can grant them and their families a stable lifestyle.

Yes, Dubai is a place where you work hard but can make good money. But then again, the expenses are high so it might turn out that you are really just operating with higher numbers and not saving much. Finding the balance is a struggle for many, especially when all the luxuries are right there, ready for you.

I've met people who were living a life of their dreams. The YOLO motto swiped them off their feet and while their free time evolved around weekend brunches and pool parties, some slowly began to realize that after three or four years of hard work they have nothing to use as a foundation to build their future on. Sooner or later when the novelty of the change wore off they started thinking about returning to their homeplace, not realizing that they are leaving for the same reason that brought them here.

I've met even more of those that save every last cent (or fill, if you will) and at the same time hate their life here. They are usually underpaid in the first place so they don't have much choice but to hold on to the hard-earned buck. They feel like they don't have a lot to do outside of work except to use the time for household chores and some Netflix or internet browsing. Same boring routine day after day. Different story but same effect. They find themselves wanting to flip to the other side of the fence again when they figure that there are other things that they don't have - family, old friends, familiar environment ...

The truth is, the shiny grass is an illusion. It is our job to keep the grass as green as possible, which might take some external help. I started just recently. Hiring a cleaner once a week so I can stop arguing every week about who will do the ironing. Explaining the boss that 13 working hours a day is not going to work if they want me to stay productive. Dedicating a few hours a week to exercise and cook real food. Painting, although I'm not any good at it. Dancing swing.

I took this photo of a dry stem with the river sparkling behind a week before moving from my homeland to where I am now. At that time I was still searching for the green grass. Now I'm watering it myself.

Sort:  

Really deep thoughts. Some people realize this at 25, some at 50 years of age and majority of people never. But I would add this: In Dubai there is also fertilizer available for your grass and probably water hose is bigger there, so it easier to maintain nicer little lawn of yours.

Absolutely. When you have resources it's easy to deal with maintenance.

There you go.

I agree with you Oldtimer, wisdom can come with age and experience, but if we don't have the right mind to analyze what we go through, and try to learn from it, then wisdom might never come.

I absolutely love the last paragraph. You really know your writing, thanks for meaningful reminder.

It doesn't matter how much you have, you will always want more, so grass will always be greener on the other side. But nothing wrong with that because desire will keep you moving forward

Exactly.

I really appreciate authentic posts like this and I look forward to seeing more of your content in the future. If you haven’t already, consider joining #minnowsupport so we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @penticton :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Thanks @tayken, just like I'm searching for authentic content I'm also trying to produce my own content for the posts. I'm not very familiar with minnowsupport, will check it out so thanks for this note.

Absolutely agree , "the shiny grass is an illusion."
You have to work in order to live within greener grass.
My grandparents emigrated to a country they knew nothing about, but still managed to do well and i don't think they regret this decision.

I love this post, as tayken says it is authentic and therefore I feel it is also so much more powerful. I love the finish of the story, and I think that hard work will pay off sooner or later, and I am sure you will be successful!

Too many are still living near rivers that cause floods every year, near volcanoes that never sleep, in deserts where it never rains...
Big towns are not solution, they are the worst trap of them all


See your post mentioned here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55