You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Depression from clinical point of view

in #life7 years ago

Very well written! I'm both a Psychology Student and I personally suffer with depression.

I'd like to also comment on the Biopsychosocial model, not sure if you have heard of it, from your extensive understanding, you may have.
But it basically means that doctors 'should' approach such issues from all three sides; biological (chemical imbalance in the brain, such as a thydoid disfunction or even a Vitamin D deficiency), psychological (how someone has just 'learnt', just look at classical conditioning and such like) or social (are you having social problems at home, or lacking a social life).

Sort:  

Hey
Thanks a lot for your comment.
Yea I am aware of the Biopsychosocial model. It's one of the theories regarding the definition of health, how to get healthy and stay healthy. It's from the positive psychological discipline which I'm thinking about making an article about. It tries to take a lot of different aspect into account when speaking about health and not just a physical point of view. It's kind of interesting (and also other health theories, they provide you with an alternative view on health in contrast to the traditional ones where it's only about one aspect).
If it's not too personal I would be interested in some of your personal experiences with depression. How does it feel like? Is it constant or from time to time? For how long did you have it? How do you deal with it? Do you have plans on how to fight this disease?

You're welcome.
Yeah, it's a really good model to follow, well especially for depression, not sure if it's always good for all medical issues! I don't think it'll be helpful for someone who's broken their leg! (Although, it's helpful if someone is suffering mental issues as a result of their broken leg!)

And of course, I try to open up about my mental health to encourage others! I've had it for as long as I can remember. I had a bit of a strange upbringing - if you read my first post, I talk a little about it there - I was bullied at school and refused to talk. It comes and goes, I think mine is a mixture of social and psychological, and I'm working on trying to overcome these. But I never feel as if I can 100% get over it, maybe 'manage' it is a better term? I recognise my triggers, understand what works to either pull myself out of a lull or stop myself from going into one in the first place.
It feels like, to me, that the whole world is against me, I feel useless, underappreciated, worthless and I get paranoid too. It doesn't help that I'm extremely introverted either. This world is more so for extroverts I feel. Although sometimes I feel I have undiagnosed autism somedays!

Regarding the leg example: Yes definitely. The model is also not intended to be applied on a specific disease but rather about being healthy in general. Although it can be applied to specific diseases (e.g. depression).
First of all: Thanks for opening up. I've read your post; very interesting story. Regarding the 100% getting over: I'm not sure if it's a good perspective on this issue. I don't think that there is a state where a person can say I'm 100% free of depression (or for that matter, psychological issues in general). Some people have certain traits stronger than other. You might have some social issues while others might have issues regarding being aware of oneself. So I personally belief it's more about just saying "ok that's me." and that's it. No rating, just accepting oneself and not thinking that I'm abnormal or something. You can do this if you showed me this normal person that you are different from.
I find the feelings you describe interesting if I may say and I believe that there a lot more people out there with these kinds of feelings than the average person thinks there is.
I'm sorry but I would like to disagree regarding your sentence "This world is more so for extroverts". I think it's, again, more a matter of the perspective. Introverts do have a lot of advantages in comparison to extroverts. I think it's sometimes helpful to look at personality just like we for example look at skin color (not the old fashion way). Can you say a white person is better than a black person? Or that he has it easier than a black person (generally speaking)? Everyone has its traits; one has more of this the other more of that. The traits we were born with don’t make us better or worse people, but rather what we make out of these.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33