How Old Was Adam When God Created Him?

in #life5 years ago

I was in my office working when a Training College student walked in and asked me if I could help him answer a question his teacher posed to them. He was with high hopes I could help him. He looked straight in my eyes and asked, ‘How old was Adam when God created him, was he a day old, a week, a month old or a year old… Could you please help me out?’ The question echoed in my office and had me sit up to braving this ‘new threat’.

I looked at him and said, ‘my good friend, the Bible states in Deuteronomy 29:29 that the secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law. We know of Adam’s age before he died but we cannot tell how old he was when God created him. I closed the chapter stating categorically that no one would be able to help him.

I closed from work and never really thought about it again until I boarded a bus home. While on the bus, the Holy Spirit began to deal with me with regard to the answer I gave this young man. He said the following and I stated it just as I received it:

‘God created man in His own image, in His likeness created He him. Since the nature of God doesn’t see corruption, since it is timeless; without days or number, Adam automatically inherited that. Adam was not given a time frame to live within (He was not time-bound). He was simply living the years of God Himself. He was not given a nature that was dictated to by time (He was living ‘heavenward’). The days in Eden were always one, even though the moon and sun performed their duties. The Days of Adam started counting after the fall in Eden. Adam by his sin corrupted the incorruptible: the eternal life; life without boundaries; life not given a time frame, and inherited the opposite. He was driven from the garden of Eden where time played no role in his life to ‘a section of the earth’ where the sons of men are governed by times, days, seasons, etc. So, when Adam sinned, God dated it, kept that day on record and marked it as the beginning of days for the sons of men. So, the day Adam sinned was the very ‘first day’ given him in his life (days) as an earthly man who would see corruption. Better still, that was the ‘day one’ of Adam’s years per human-count.’

It can, therefore, be said without a doubt that the very first day of Adam’s life started counting after the fall in Eden. That was also the day God instituted the time frame for the destruction of this world, which He has appointed in His own authority. (All are what they are and would be because of ‘sin’). But thanks goodness, Christ Jesus has overcome the world!

My name is Barnie Sarpong Freeman, a lay Pastor serving at The Assemblies of God, Ghana (Calvary Grace Chapel). I received this on the 15-09-2014.

Sort:  

God must have created Adam as an adult. Adam was created to live forever so he would have been 21, for example, until he sinned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43