Day 5 of my attempt to stop smoking with champix

in #life6 years ago


So this is day 5 of taking champix. as i mentioned in a previous post i now have emphysema so have to stop smoking.

The cravings are definitely getting less, smoked 5 cigarettes less yesterday than i usually do, down to about 10 a day now.
When smoking now, the cigarettes don't taste the same, less satisfying, sometime they don't taste nice at all and i'm putting them out quicker.

On the down side, the champix has side effects. bad concentration, dizzyness and nausea esp when smoking.
Feeling a bit anxious and bad tempered now and again. They are also making me a bit depressed at times but i was aware they may do that.
I can cope with the side effects so far, if it stops me smoking then a bit of discomfort is a small price to pay.

On the whole though, so far so good.
I will post again in a couple of days to let you know how its going :-)

My first post, day 2 of stoping smoking :
https://steemit.com/life/@pcste/the-time-has-come-for-me-to-stop-smoking-just-been-diagnosed-with-emphysema-day-2-of-my-attempt-to-quit-with-champix

please vote pcste for witness.
to vote go to : https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Scroll to the bottom of the page and enter pcste into the box. click vote.
do not use the @sign

Sort:  

Tobacco is a motherfucker. I quit a 10year habit in college because of chronic heartburn. Meaning I got heartburn if I smoked weed while chewing or smoking tobacco. I much preferred the hi from weed than tobacco so was able to quit & stayed away since. Went through a blunt faze 15 years ago, but got out of that when I figured swisher sweet makers were trying to poison the black youth.

Looking forward to the post when you kick the smokes & the pills!

smoking is helth for harmful. it's bad habit. thanks for @pcste

Smoking is a very bad habit..it makes harmful effect in our body...and it causes a lot of harmful disease..

I smoked for 30 years. One day I just decided to quit. The first few days were hard, but everyday was easier after that. Drugs are not the answer. As you have found out, the effects of the drug are worse than the smoking problem. Stop the drug and the smoking. You can do it. Let me ask you this: If someone had said they would kill a person you know (daughter/spouse) if you did not quit, would you quit? You would, to protect them. Just quit. You can do it. The mind is a powerful thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48