The hard work to get work

in #life7 years ago

It really annoys me when people think that, first unemployed people are in this situation because they want to, and second they think it is an easy task find a job.
I moved to Bangkok almost four months ago, a crazy adventure that I and my husband start. We lived in Berlin for two years, and the weather was starting to get on our nerves.
You see, we are from Portugal, so the lack of sun can transform you into a serial killer, for real.
So after another fantastic cold summer, we started to think about getting to our retirement plan. A warm and beautiful place, with awesome food and smiling people. An ambiance more similar to Portugal, that could make us feel more home.
It didn’t take much time for my husband find a job. You see he is a software engineer so that you can find work even in the middle of the desert; you just need one computer and internet. Unfortunately, I am not that good mastering the art of code. So, I updated my CV, LinkedIn, and started my journey.
We moved at the end of last October and started a new life here.
The life in Bangkok is amazing. It is such a different culture and environment. I just love it. It is like being on vacations every single day.
The first weeks I didn’t even worry that much about the lack of answers to my job applications. I was still absorbing all this vibes and smells and colors. Getting excited to learn Thai, know more about their culture.
But as the days passed by I started to feel trapped and with this anxiety feeling. I was sending CV’s every day and LinkedIn messages to whoever I could find that could help me get a job here. Or at least give me some tips that might improve my chances of being called for any interview.
I am a Customer Experience Manager. I am a person lover, a customer fanatic. Although I have experience in other areas, such Cinema Production and Product Management, provide an amazing experience to a costumer, that makes him really happy with a product, is what I love most.
I had to learn how to manage my expectations, the same way I manage customers expectations about a product or service. So I started to apply all my knowledge and experience to me. I have been my case study. I am my best customer, and my journey started a bit rough, but it is getting smoother every day.
Have hope is an amazing thing, really, but have hope without big expectations it is the gold key. I am not saying to lost your faith or don’t expect anything. Otherwise, you and I would be just a person in a coma with the eyes open. Just adjust the expectations that we have to the reality of the moment. And meanwhile do things that make us feel good, and we can see our value. Improve our skills, discover new ones. Try projects that we never had time for, or never had courage.
And I know it can be hard to get the strength to do this because we can feel drained of energy when we are in this position. But day by day, with some not so good days in between, we can do this.
We can feel that we are doing something. Not just passing the days…
I am still looking for my opportunity, and it will appear for sure. It will be there for all of us that are looking for it.
This is one of my new steps. Write something, share. I am not a writer, so I apologize in advance for the confused text or mistakes or anything that not fit as a professional write. But today was the day on my calendar for it.
Hope I can share more and help someone that might need.

Have a beautiful day.organic-1280537_960_720.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @paulamachado,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Hi,

thank you!! It is really an awesome feeling being in the top picks.

That is true. Finding a job can be challenging, but if you have the right attitude, you can use this time as your advantage.

It did not take much time for my husband find a job. You see he is a software engineer so that you 'can find work even in the middle of the desert; you just need one computer and internet. Unfortunately, I am not that good mastering the art of code.

Heh ... my wife also used this same arguments ... it took me 6 years to convince her to try and start a career in IT, but after I somehow convinced her, it only took me 6 months to teach her and help her learn enough to get paid first full-time job.

IT is like Medicine. You can be a surgeon, pediatrician, ophthalmologist or a nurse - there are so many different positions in the world of medicine. Exactly the same is with IT. You can be a web-developer, graphic-designer, scrum master tester (QA), product owner, sys-admin, etc.

Not every type of job in IT requires serious coding skills. My wife for example love to work on the frontend - with CSS and HTML. Yes .. this is still kind of coding, but for many people it is much simpler - in the other hand ... for me preparing good styles is harder (somehow she can make every website looks prettier)

You should take a look on @aidancloquell's profile. He is very young, but he is great example, that if you want to do learn how to code you can make progress with small everyday steps.

Right now my wife thanks to a position in a IT, can work remotely from home, I am also doing this from time to time. This is great way to spend more time with own kids... and do not waste time for commuting :)

Hi!!! First of all thank you so much for your words. In fact, you made me think twice about try the IT path. Your wife success made me feel "I can do this." I will update all my new steps.

Working remotely is my goal. I never did that before, but I can imagine the feeling of freedom and quality of life that you can achieve.

I will check @aidancloquell's profile and who knows if I start my new career!

Let's keep in touch!

Have an amazing day!!!!!

Your wife rock!!!! :)

Olá Paula
Bem vinda ao Steemit.
Welcome to steemit.
The initial chaos of a strange in a strange land soon became organized life.

Moving to a new place is not easy! Good luck on your adventure 🙂

It is not. But life without this adventures is not the same. Thank you!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65