You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The case against going to a 4-year college

in #life5 years ago

Omg I loved college. First time I went I studied Applied Biology and Biochemistry. I had a keen interest in science at the time. I hated school. Although I did well academically, its wasnt the place for me. I never did work in my first field of study, but it gave me a passion for learning.

I continued to take college courses, part time, till I was nearly 30. And I would love, love to go back again. Maybe study medicine and be a doctor.

College opened doors for me. It gives you a foot above those that dont attend. When I was 25, although still studying, I was earning substantially more that my friends and I had pruchases my own home.

First round of college was more or less free. Paid a few grand reg fees, books and accomodation. So maybe at the time 18-10k a year all in. After that I had to fully fund fees too. But I was working, so I didn't mind paying for it.

Why did I go to college? Because I didn't want to ever have to struggle financially. And guess what......I dont!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

i loved college also. I am happy that you went in to a good field and ended up successful on the other end. Unfortunately for a lot of other people due probably at least in part to their own decisions, they didn't fare as well.

I'm happy that you did well even though at first it was a failure. Tell me, did you study in USA or somewhere else?

The first was by no means a failure, I got more out of it than I did school. Just because I didn't work in the field doesn't mean it was a failure at all.

I live in Ireland and studied here too

Posted using Partiko Android

ah ok. my bad if i hurt your feelings... it wasn't my intention at all :)

I'm happy that it all worked out for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64050.44
ETH 2502.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65