My Slow Grind to 100 Followers

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It's taken a while but I've recently passed the 100 follower threshold. I liken this point in my Steemit "career" to receiving the first stripe on my white belt in Jiu Jitsu. I'm still gathering my bearings and am humbled to watch people jump on the platform and absolutely kill it right out of the gate. @paolajane comes to mind.

U5dqv8UMgideCSP2ZnzpGQWuNXnmLXm_1680x8400.png

A few things I've learned so far are the following:

  1. Post about what I'm most interested in. At times I've found that difficult not because I lack particular interests but because this is the first time I've ever really put pen to paper about them.

  2. Be consistent. Like anything in life that's worth accomplishing, showing up is 90% of the equation, the rest tends to work itself out.

  3. Don't compare what I post to what others do. There are some super talented and incredibly articulate cats on here and me comparing my content to theirs is a losing battle. @perceptualflaws and @tremendospercy come to mind.

  4. Stop trying to get "it" perfect. I've got a dozen half written posts that I keep coming back to to perfect and touch up and yet none of them are complete yet. Do your best and forget the rest. (I'm talking to myself here. )

  5. Don't pay attention to how much a post earns. It really doesn't matter at the end of the day... and what can you do about it anyways. Stay the course and continue to do what you do.

Moving forward my 2 commitments are to post on a weekly basis and to create content that I believe will truly provide value to others.

Below are some peeps that I've found inspiring or just cool that have had some sort of an impact on me on Steemit.

@evecab Filandia

@framelalife

@goanve

@jasonstaggers

@jiujitsu The Ambassador

@jomoncas The Artist

@paolajane Killing It

@perceptualflaws

@theaustrianguy

Sort:  

Haha I just noticed I have 101. Wasn't even paying attention!

I appreciate the support in my posts and you are on your way to 200.

I think I follow half of those people and will check out the other half now.

OSS!

one day at a time baby! Just gotta stay active.

I wasn't either but recently saw I hit that mark. Love your content man and wouldn't comment or upvote it I authentically wasn't into it. OSS!

Keep up that grind! #bjj and #mma need more original content. Your following will keep growing!

Sorry for being inactive lately. Anarchapulco is keeping me busy! OSSS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78