You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why bother with an apple a day when he's always away?

in #life6 years ago

I think it must be so frustrating when you can't see a doctor when you need one. But it's hard to really understand and sympathize when you come from a place that does not have universal health care. The difference is that where I am there isn't a hard to reach, overloaded doctor to be tracked down. There is just nothing. So if you are sick, there is nothing... nothing at all. People in lands where there is universal healthcare seem to not really understand how bad it is, in my experience.

Sort:  

I'm not sure what your previous experience is, but I do understand. However, I find that sometimes people don't understand fully how the healthcare system is used in different countries, and more specifically provinces and cities. I am very grateful for what I have. But even my husband has been baffled by different aspects of the healthcare setting in my city. Back in South Korea, he had told me anyone could walk in to a local hospital and get taken care of in a few minutes. Whereas here, you have to wait hours or even up to a couple of days to get taken care of at our local hospital due to a shortage of doctors. I believe there are many problems and misconceptions about healthcare along the spectrum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50