LEAF CLEANUP BEGINS

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We have a beautiful yard with over a dozen 50 foot maple trees. Mostly silver maples, but also 2 large royal red maples in the front yard. This time of year the trees are amazing with brilliant colors. My wife just loves this, I do to, but my love is tempered by the fact I will be spending the next month cleaning them up.

Just getting started, stopped to get photo's & change bags

If I had a few trees it wouldn't be so bad, but because we have so many it does create allot of work!! I have heard suggestions that I mulch them into the yard for winter. I like this idea, but this amount of leaves would create mulch way too deep. Besides the fact the trees don't drop at the same time. My mower wouldn't run through leaves over one foot deep, if I wait for them all to drop. Nope, my only option is to pick up the leaves with the mower every 5 to seven days while mowing the lawn. The lawn needs mowing as well you know.

2/3 done, bags full again

So yesterday I did this and here are the photo's from the front yard. The leaves of the royal red maples are very dense and thick, they have a feel of leather. Every time I stopped to take photo's the bags were full and I needed to replace them. In all I filled 5 bags from the front yard alone! And believe me, I compacted them in between!

Done with the front yard

The silver maples in the back yard are not as dense, and compact much easier. But I have one dozen of them dropping leaves in the back. Yes they are beautiful, as you can see in my post autumn splendor, so I enjoy the canopy of shade in the summer, the beauty of the colors in autumn, and tolerate the leaf cleanup.

As you can see, there are many leaves still on the trees

How much leaf cleanup do you have?

I would love to hear your stories of this annual task.

Thanks for visiting, please follow, comments are free.


Sort:  

I have a mulching lawnmower. Trees pull minerals deep from underground. Mulching allows you to feed that to your grass. I use the extra leafs to cover my garden perennials.

Sounds wonderful!! Thank you my friend!!
As I mow, time after time, I'm sure some of the leave clippings fall & remain in the grass.
The leaves cover my perennial gardens, I don't remove them.

I agree with the clean-up being worth it. I love when leaves all change colors. Maple tree leaves are beautiful. I would rather deal with leaves any day, compared to the mess of pine needles, especially when my cat eats them. Thank you for sharing those photos.

It's art, tneo-functional mannerism, I would say.

Look at all the exercise you are getting and you don't need to pay a gym membership!

Yep!! That is definitely a good thing!!
Thanks Ceci!!

Congratulations @paradise-found! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 4.87 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @paradise-found.

its that time of the year :D you did a great job :)

hi papa bear! I saw your voting power at 59.51% Voting Power
https://steemdb.com/@paradise-found

^_- Don't worry, I will never leave you, I am coming to get you! I have @sunnylife and my friends, a bunch of them actually! so I don't how am going to fit them in our minnow little virtual airplane! LOL

Miss you my dear friend! ^- thank you for being patient ^- I will try to read all these soon... right now, my library is full like my friend said "shark-tank" LOL

talk again soon! Virtual HUGSS from all of US!!!

Yeah, my voting power was down in the 30's a few days ago. I've been resting, trying to let it build up.
I'm very thankful for friends like you and Sunny!! Hugs from the USA!!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 2.95 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @paradise-found. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82