Going beyond ones boundaries

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemers and Steemettes!

Today I want to talk about an experience I had not too long ago and what kind of impact it had on me.

I make a wild guess and say that a lot of people reading this had some moments in their lifes where they felt that taking better care of oneself might be a good idea. Maybe doing a bit more sport, maybe trying out a diet, losing some weight, building muscle.

Of course, I am no stranger to that myself. My problem regarding these topics is one that most of you may find familiar as well. It is super hard to properly get started and to keep the motivation going long term. On top of that, one develops a magnificent eye for opportunities and reasons to skip having to go for a run or going to the gym.

Does it sound familiar?

I actually found a couple of hacks that allow me to trick my own system which enabled me to go out running every day, twice for about a week. I will talk about these another time, but today, I want to talk about the last run on the last day.

Living in Germany brings many percs, being able to enjoy good weather and nice climate constantly ain't one of them. It was storming and hailing, the weather was remarkably terrible. At that day, I stood at my place, looking out the window. Most people probably would have taken that as an opportunity to stay at home, do something else, say that tomorrow might be another day as well, etc, yaddah yaddah.

Not me, not on that day!

When I saw those harsh conditions, I immediately changed into my sports clothes and went outside, wanting to run. I said to myself that if I manage to make myself go out for some running exercise while the world is basicly ending outside, there will never, ever be any kind of excuse for me to not go outside!

So I went out and it was actually beautiful. Dark clouds at the sky, rain and hail beating down on me, lightning and thunder were my companions as my running shoes were soaking from all the water they absorbed. But it didn't matter. I was outside, I was running and it was amazing.

Now what is the takeaway for you here? Do I suggest that all of you should be outside exercising when the world is just shy of ending? Hell no, that shit is dangerous!

What I am saying is that pushing yourself beyond the ideas of boundaries you put on yourself will let you experience things that you wouldn't have considered possible yourself either. And these experiences will shape your life. In the best way imaginable.

Sort:  

If you can understand your mind and see what the resistance is, there will be no need to push

Master your mind and every action will just flow

@kabir88

Very good point. In a perfect world, you should always work smart rather than hard.

But I think there is some value in both.

No one said mastering the mind was easy ;)

But it is definatly worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71