DISADVANTAGES OF COMFORT ZONE: USING MYSELF AS A CASE STUDY

in #life6 years ago

I finished my National youth Service Corps (NYSC) in November 2017(I served in Akwanga Nasarawa State) with so much expectations that I will get a job soon thinking the jib meant for me is outside there waiting for me, little did I know that it is the journey to another reality. I happily went back home i.e my state of residence because my parents told me that when I get home I will give my résumé to some people who can assist me in getting a job, I was so happy because I thought that is how I will get my job faster...days gone...weeks..months till its going to a year all I have is hope that a job will come soon because I even went for two jobs interview (but I was not called back). image While staying at home I have lost a lot of confidence in my self because I always try to avoid anything that will make my parent angry at me, there are times I will see job offer which I am ready to start with but my mun will have a reason for me not to take the job because every parents want their child to start work in a big company or get a federal government job.
I was so comfortable staying at home (even though I was not happy been idle) because I have basic things I need always around me which includes 4square meal, house needs and little cash for basic need like recharge card and the likes. But something was missing in my life, I became someone who is not free around too many people again, I became someone who is afraid of trying new things. During my NYSC year I use to be the leader of groups, I use to be the guy people look forward too, I use to be the guy people wait for to make decision before they know next point of action, but comfort of me staying around familiar people have robbed me of all that.
Thanks to my friend @Lordjames who made me realise what is going on in my life and showed me how to navigate myself to the former me. Even though I am a progress in making, I am sure things will definitely be fine for me and things around me.
Using myself as a case study I conclude that risks needs to be taken, sometimes one needs to suffer to bring the best out of yourself, when you step out of your comfort zone things that can happen includes increased confidence, you will be in more control of yourself and your time, you grow fast, you trust yourself, increased self esteem, make impact to the environment you find your self and to your nation as a whole and you tends to accomplish your goals and target faster.

So if you are still in that confort zone and you feel you are not happy, please take that bold step to bring the best.

For more on disadvantages on comfort zone please click here here and here

Sort:  

I'm glad that you've finally come to terms with reality. Wake up to the real you. You still can be what you desire to be but you must be ready to work. Things will get better in the long run not when we wait but when we work.

Thanks.. I hope all will get better.

In one like I'll say, get hard or go home.

I hope to get there

Congratulations @paparazy06! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40