Walk With Me - That's Why They Call It Fishing and Not Catching!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Walk With Me - That's Why They Call It Fishing and Not Catching!


It is Most Definitely About the Journey Not the Destination

Another glorious day off arrived and I could not wait to hit a "secret" pond I go to from time to time.  I say "secret" because even though it is fairly close to neighborhoods and a park, it is on private property and it is totally secluded.  I, of course, have permission to fish there and I do not recommend trespassing or breaking any local laws.  I started the day by filling up my vehicle at my local gas station and while I was there grabbed some breakfast.  That's right, I said, "Breakfast".  Let me tell you a little know secret to those not abiding within the southeast U.S., in the south the best food to be found is in gas stations.  I don't care if you are looking for bar-b-que, breakfast, sandwiches, or seafood, if you can find a small kitchenette is a gas station in the south you are GOLDEN. While we are on the subject, additionally in the south the more run-down, decrepit, haunting-looking the restaurant, the better the food!(but that is a subject for another post).

Gas is a little down right now for this area.

Here is the glorious breakfast-of-champions I was able to secure from said gas station!  It is a layered bowl of grits, cheese, eggs, and sausage and it is absolutely, mouth-wateringly spectacular.


At the Destination


The best way to access this particular pond is to park at a local park and hump through the back of the soccer fields until you hit the treeline.  We recently had a bit of snow and to my surprise, there was a small patch of snow left and it had the tracks of a small deer running through it.


Once you hit the wood line, it is just a small little jaunt to the edge of the pond.  The small wooded area starts out fairly open, but then gets a bit thicker and more precarious with brier vines.  Of course, I am as about as agile as a elephant walking on leggos so I hit just about every thorn in the entire forest!

This is the edge of the wood line just before I begin my battle with the dreaded brier army!


Let the Fishing(not catching) Begin

Finally, I stumble into the clearing and behold the beautiful magnificence that is my "secret" pond.  I can't wait to get my rod put together and start casting for the inevitable hogs I am going to catch!

I get everything together and begin contest of wits with my scaled friends.  I fought the trees more than I did the fish and after about two hours I respectfully submitted to the wiser of the species and conceded victory to the fish.  

Even my lucky bigfoot riding a unicorn shirt was not enough of a talisman to ensure anything more than a relaxing day enjoying the outside and being grateful that even on my worst day, I am blessed beyond measure and more fortunate that the vast majority of society. 

I shot video of my escapes on a new action camera, but I could not figure out the downloading, uploading, and editing.  I think I may have a clip of some of the casting I will try to link here.

https://d.tube/v/papacrusher/0oywn1a1

 @devcoin/13mtCyZTnMJRJw9nt7xqbiGU7tXrvkeAJB   

   <center>![APP.png]()</center>  

Sort:  

That looks like a sweet spot! You'll get em next time :)

It's definitely a great spot, the fishing gods just showed no mercy today! Lol. Thanks for the upvote and comment.

Thank you for bringing us fishing, I liked that you included a selfie, it's good to see you!!

Well since I didn't have any fish to show off, I figured a selfie was the next best thing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46