Life Lesson - Green, Green Grass of Home

in #life6 years ago (edited)
blog, life lesson, life, leadership, gratitude
Image Source Pixabay

 

While cutting my grass today I found myself descending into the foulest of moods even though a life lesson was waiting for me, hidden in the weeds. Lawn care is, by far, the vilest form of human torture that I can possibly comprehend and I detest it with a passion few have experienced. It's not that I'm lazy. I do all of the cooking for my family. I keep the kitchen spotless. I take out the garbage. I also work a full time job, all without even the slightest complaint for the most part. There is just something about yard work that absolutely drives me crazy and can ruin my mood almost instantaneously.

Then in the middle of my self-imposed torment I begin to feel completely horrible about the selfish attitude I have about this little chore of cutting my grass. I know how blessed I am and that there are people that would do almost anything to have the yard I have, the mower to keep it up, or even the ability and health to go outside and sit on a mower for an hour. The things I take for granted sometimes are the fairy dust and magic dreams to people in some parts of the world.

I try to keep a joyful heart and spirit and to be thankful for my difficult times because I have seen first-hand that my absolute worst day is better than some people have to endure on a daily basis. There I was finished cutting the grass covered in sweat, grime, and with the biggest, boldest, goofiest grin in the neighborhood. I pray I'm always able to see the good regardless of my limited mind's inclination to see sorrow where it isn't present.

This interesting quote keeps popping up that has various forms that I love. Basically, it goes..."What if you woke up with only the things you were thankful for yesterday?" Please leave me a comment about what you are thankful for today!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/07/10/life-lesson-green-green-grass-of-home/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Yes sometimes we just have to put our so called problems into perspective. I am thankfull i was able to fix some small issues on a friends car and help fix some elses chainsaw.

Now those are definitely things to he thankful for. There is nothing better than being able to be a blessing to someone!

Had my 5 year check in, a few weeks ago, with the surgeon who removed my tongue cancer. He officially gave me my 'survivor' status and suggested there should be many such anniversaries in my future. My reply was that regardless of how much time may still be waiting for me there was no true way to thank him for this 5 year reprieve. #thankfulforeachday.

Wow, such a moving reply. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Good for you to turn it around like that Papa Crusher! That quote though.... WOW... Goosebumps!!! Thanks for the food for thought!

Even a broken watch is right twice a day...lol. my first instict is to jump off the mower and throw some serious monkey style kung fu on it, you know, really scissor kick the crap out of it!

Love it! ♥

I am thankful for my kind, polite, loving children. I have been blessed with some pretty fantastic spawn, and I wouldnt trade them for anything.

Also thankful for the best husband on earth. ♥

A great kid and a great spouse are definitely on my list as well. I don't know where I would be without my wife, she definitely keeps me grounded and on track!

Absolutely! ♥

Have you considered AstroTurf?
or perhaps

s

Rocks and cactii don't require much mowing.

When I was younger I even contemplated pouring concrete or asphalt and painting it green! I really love the look of the desertscape if I could talk my wife into it. Great suggestions and thank you for commenting.

you're welcome.

Woah! That last statement is profound. I had to resteem this amazing post @papacrusher. Thank you for your honesty. We DO have so much to be grateful for. We are blessed. My stepsons are autistic and the most difficult lives with us and he is an enormous challenge. He smashes things (plates, bottles, windows) This is a reminder that I need to be grateful even for broken windows

Thank you so much for your open and transparent comment. I fall short so many days of my life when it comes to gr attitude. I strive to be upbeat and thankful of my many, many blessings, but sometimes I fall as we all do. I love your last line as well, "even for broken windows" I really appreciate you sharing.

It’s true that we often tend to forget how lucky we are to have what we have and to be what/where we are...
It’s important to put things into the right perspective every once in a while.

I’m currently learning to shift my own perspective from ‘how I wish things would be’ to ‘how things are’. That includes being thankful for what I consider to be the smaller things, but which are not always so self-evident for a lot of other people. Later today, I will have a delicious meal, with veggies fresh-picked from the garden, with my lovely girlfriend and some friends. Things I take for granted, but like I said, are not as ‘normal’ for other people.

I, too, need a ‘reality check’ every once in a while. Your post helped me with that. Thanks for that!

I'm so glad my post was able to connect with you. It was actually an attempt to "preach" to myself. I agree there are just so many things we consider mundane, or as you put it "normal", that others would give anything to have.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a well-thought out and meaningful comment.

Thanks, but I should be thanking you! :0)

What i am thankful for today is: My friends, my family, my creativity, and my imagination!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79