You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chronicles of HumanEarl- Wake Up, Pay Bills, and Die

in #life7 years ago

This is inspirational. I remember being there. I'm about to purchse about 8 acres in Arkansas for what I would have paid in property taxes over 4 years in Wisconsin. Also, we will be building our own house, no rent or mortgage. By providing the majority of our own food, the cost of living should be drastically reduced.

GO FOR IT!

Also, school buses work great. I used to live on one!

Sort:  

Wow. No rent or mortgage is nice. I'm thankful that you read this post. It means alot. How much does 8 acres in Arkansas go for? And also what do you plan on growing? Lastly how was living on a bus?

Lots of questions but I'm interested to hear your thoughts.

Ok, I'll give the condensed version.

How much does 8 acres in Arkansas go for?

There are still places that you can purchase land for $1000 an acre. Many places cost more than that, but some still exist. I was paying about $2000 in property tax per year in Wisconsin on a 1/4 acre. With the homestead credit and low property tax rates in Arkansas, I may not even have to pay property tax! If that is the case, I could either drop $8000 here for 8 acres once, or pay $2000 a year to have a restricted 1/4 acre with limited options and a shorter growing season.


And also what do you plan on growing?

About everything that can grow in my zone. From Noodle beans from Asia to Kiwano Melons from Africa, if it can grow here and I can eat it, then I want to. A lot of plants are already started, and the goal is just one giant food forest that could feed a small army. Plus, the animals!


Lastly how was living on a bus?

I plan on eventually doing a series called "BUS BOY ADVENTURES." It is a long story, but basically we were a shaggy group of potheads who lived on a bus and traveled around Wisconsin. I was enjoyable and thankfully things never got too bad.

Your plan sounds really good. Hopefully everything goes well with that. True sustainability.

This is a great idea, though I like being close to the city where I can have a more direct impact on the world. You can do that on the internet, but I like to do it in the flesh. If this steemit thing works I hope it can provide lots of travel money so maybe I can live like you but still spend lots of time in other places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86