Fix Broken Glasses For Only $1 - INCREDIBLE, SIMPLE SOLUTION

in #life8 years ago

BROKEN GLASSES? – TRY THIS $1 FIX

I’m not sure if anyone has shared this yet, but since it has blessed us incredibly, I figured that I better. For anyone who wears glasses, you probably know the frustration of getting your frames broken, and the cost associated with getting new ones. Even the discount online glasses providers can cost a bit, at about $30 - $40 per pair. I’ll teach you how to get a new pair of glasses for $1.

Some time ago, my wife had got a brand new pair of glasses. They were nothing special, the frames cost somewhere under $100. But, within less than a week, one of our children had snapped them in half. We thought that was the end of that pair of glasses. However, as my wife was lamenting over our loss to some friends, one lady spoke up.


Her suggestion?

PURE GENIUS.

She asked, “Why don’t you just go to the dollar store and buy some new frames?”


We were dumbfounded. Was the solution really that simple? We had never even considered it, and since you may be in the same boat, I figured I would share this story.

She was right; there was nothing wrong with the lenses, it’s just that the frames were broken. At the dollar store, where all items cost only $1, they had plenty of various shapes and sizes of both sunglasses and reading glasses. Since my old metal frames were getting weak and bent, I figured I would join my wife on this adventure.

The neat part is that the shape of where the lens goes doesn’t even need to match completely, just enough to hold it in place. Since the frames at the dollar store all appeared to be plastic, they can bend to wrap around your lenses, changing their shape slightly to fit snugly. It worked great!

The glasses that you see me wearing at the end of every post are simple reading glasses frames that I bought for $1, with my prescription lenses inside. There may be some tiny gaps in the corners, but no one has mentioned noticing them to me yet.

Mine are the ones of top in this picture, and my wife’s are the ones on the bottom. Yeah, hers have fake diamonds running up the sides.

The other helpful piece of advice that the lady gave up was to pick up an extra pair of reading glasses in the same style. The additional cost to do this? $1. Her reasoning on this matter was sound as well. Periodically, the styles will change. If you found a pair of frames that work for you this time, you may not next time. Plus, if you’ve got your extra frames on hand, there’s no need to take another trip to the store if your new frames break.

This information has certainly helped us, so I hope that it helps you too! - @papa-pepper


proof-of-busted frames

Sort:  

Genius Idea, I'm a contacts man myself, I have learned that glasses and greenhouse work don't mix, you lean down and sweat drips on the lenses, you walk down a row and string or a leaf grabs them off your face, what's a guy to do?

Yeah, I plan on heading down to Mexico shortly to buy some more contacts. Until then, I'm dripping sweat on the lenses. Might need to start wearing a bandanna.

Yes, you can do that!
I already did it to my glasses also :) Thanks 4 sharing @papa-pepper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54