Patriots of no country

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I'm not a fan of territorial borders. I know they are useful, sure, but I have no feeling about territorial borders. The borders and the boundaries I care about are the ones I choose and create to identify the community of people, places and ideas I like.

Don't get me wrong, I like local and historical traditions: civilizations fond themselves on it, mostly. It's just that I don't feel a bond to something just becouse it belongs to the place where I was born.

Actually, there is always a bond with the things and manners you grow up in. But you are not obliged to like it. :)

These paintings I did about 20 years ago show my idea of "singular patriot". A very utopian idea, I admit it. ;)

Sort:  

Hello @paolobeneforti,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

wow! thanx so much! I am honored. :)

Really fascinating and beautiful imagery @paolobeneforti. Thanks for sharing.

Very nice work. I like how the figure becomes one with the landscape in the first painting.

I want to be a part of a global community of people that want to live in peace and freedom. History, tradition, geography and culture are interesting and important but they are no excuse for causing harm to others, forcing people to behave in a certain way or denying them their freedom to choose.

Your paintings are lovely, I particularly like the top one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84