Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Does social anxiety affect your life?

in #life7 years ago

introvertmeme.jpg

I am an introvert with social anxiety. I abhor small talk. Either go deep or go home. I was also extensively bullied and beaten up as a child, so I have a fear of people. I don't mind attending social functions, but I do have to psyche myself up and usually spend my time people watching instead of interacting. Afterward, I usually isolate myself to the point that my friends and family will call me to make sure I am still alive.

innie-outie-brains.jpg
Image from The Introvert Advantage by Marti Olsen Laney

Curiously, if I put on my earbuds and music and go out in public, I become somewhat of a PUA, flirting and chatting up just about any woman out there (not that I'm actually trying to pick them up, I'm just more extroverted. I'll talk to guys too.). When I get home I don't feel drained like I usually do after a social gathering and actually feel invigorated until the music stops then it is back to my solitude-loving introverted self. Same was true when I was in a band. While the music was playing and during the gig, I was Mr. Extrovert, making small talk with people in the crowd, flirting, putting on a show. As soon as the gig was over, I would be sitting in a corner not wanting any small talk and back to people watching. The longer I stayed after a gig the more draining it would become.

So are you extroverted or introverted? How does that play a role in your life? Do you have social anxiety and how does that affect your introversion or extroversion?

I invite you to comment below. Thank you in advance.

Sort:  

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit ;)

Thanks. You too.

You are more than welcome

I was reading about these labels a while ago and determined I am an extroverted introvert.

It's so great that you've found music to be a tool for anxiety.

I am told they call people like you ambiverts. A combination of introvert and extrovert.

It Depends on the company for me, around people I like and trust I am an extrovert, around people I am not sure of I just clam up.

That's interesting, I never knew that music could invigorate introverts..

I'm quite a mix of both intro- and extroversion :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54