Say 'Yes' when you are ready

in #life6 years ago

In Pakistan, girls are supposed to get married and have kids as soon as they can or are done with their bachelor’s degree now and that's what happened to me. People started coming and asking for rishtas, I was so devastated and annoyed by the idea of getting married too early that I spent a whole year crying and saying no to every rishta, I told my dad not to talk about any guy with me until I am done with my masters but I still had to wait for my admission in masters.

In October, my dad again told me about a guy and my answer was same. Months passed and dad again talked to me about the same guy because my phupho(aunt) wanted my dad to consider this guy once. I spent two months crying and arguing about not getting engaged or married at the moment.
You must have heard about the saying;
A person often meets his destiny on the road he took to avoid it.
This was something that happened to me. I avoided every chance to see the guy or know the guy but destiny had it’s own plans. I got rejected from two universities abroad for admission in masters, I couldn’t get admission in any local university here in Lahore because I was late to submit application, and I was down and miserable but I still kept on saying no to the guy without knowing him.
In November, his family came to our city for a wedding when both the families met in church while I was at work (Yes, my dad played me). When I learned about this meeting, I got so angry with my dad that I stopped talking to him. It was my birthday after few days and I was so happy (because my birthday is always special for me), everything went well and few days passed not having any discussion about the guy but then I received a friend request and message from him on instagram, I got angry again and shared with my girlfriends and one convinced me to talk to the guy once and see what happens.
I talked to him and found him very sweet and loveable, he shared that he was also not ready for this but wanted to talk to me to see what destiny has planned for us. In no time he grew so close to me that I said yes to my dad and our families planned our first date (yes, families planned our first date and forced both of us to meet before they decide anything). They confirmed and families agreed after our meeting.
It all happened so fast and I had no regrets. The reason of sharing this story wasn’t just ‘positing’ but to tell the girls of my age to take your time, know the guy and say YES when you think it’s time ad you are READY. Please do not say yes to getting married just because your parents said so or think that it’s something that has to happen. It sure is one of the things that has to happen sooner or later but take your time, grow close to the person even in arranged marriage and then say YES.
I know it seems easy but trust me when I say “it wasn’t”. Thank you Rahul for talking to me, you took the first step and I promise to be by your side in every step you take for the rest of your life, love you.
I said yes to Rahul and I am ready for this new relationship and responsibilities. Girls, take your time because it’s your life and your future.

This is Us and we are getting engaged soon (in Pakistan style) <3

IMG_3942.JPG

Sort:  

Amazing colourgraphy lovelu photography! Showking colours!

lol thank you but have you read the complete story? ;p

Yes i read all over your story nice planing !!At the end you success full !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60950.37
ETH 3387.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49