hmmm??? is this some kinda of pyramid scheme???

in #life7 years ago

After about a week in Steemit i wonder if it is a pyramid scheme. I Know it's a pyramid or writers, and we cannot recover our account if we lose our password that they give us that is too damn hard to remember and we cannot put our own pass??? Seems awfully suspicious to me. Not saying i know or anything but get this. A bunch of hungry writers/"minnows" who see these "whales" on top with loads of "money"and the "minnows" swim after the 'whales" begging for scraps. Maybe i am mistaken.

What Is A Pyramid Scheme???*

Wikipedia says "In a pyramid scheme, an organization compels individuals who wish to join to make a payment. In exchange, the organization promises its new members a share of the money taken from every additional member that they recruit. The directors of the organization (those at the top of the pyramid) also receive a share of these payments. For the directors, the scheme is potentially lucrative—whether or not they do any work, the organization's membership has a strong incentive to continue recruiting and funneling money to the top of the pyramid.

Such organizations seldom involve sales of products or services with value. Without creating any goods or services, the only revenue streams for the scheme are recruiting more members, or soliciting more money from current members. The behavior of pyramid schemes follows the mathematics concerning exponential growth quite closely. Each level of the pyramid is much larger than the one before it. For a pyramid scheme to make money for everyone who enrolls in it, it would have to expand indefinitely. This is not possible because the population of Earth is finite. When the scheme inevitably runs out of new recruits, lacking other sources of revenue, it collapses. Because in a geometric series, the biggest terms are at the end, most people will be in the lower levels of the pyramid (and indeed the bottom level is always the biggest single layer).

In a pyramid scheme, people in the upper layers typically profit while people in the lower layers typically lose money. Since at any given time, most of the members in the scheme are at the bottom, most participants in a pyramid scheme will not make any money. In particular, when the scheme collapses, most members will be in the bottom layers and thus will not have any opportunity to profit from the scheme, yet they will have paid to join the scheme. Therefore, a pyramid scheme is characterized by a few people (including the creators of the scheme) making large amounts of money, while most who join the scheme lose money. For this reason, they are considered scams.[2]" https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pyramid_scheme
Steemit wants our writing work instead of money, but it still seems similar. I hope not.

Wait a minute. If i am mistaken why does the ability to edit our post go away fast and why do they save our old work??? My blogs are months of research that i poured my heart into, but my content isn't worth anymore than a snap shot with a few lines??? I have met 2 genuine souls in a week which is awesome, and seen loads of minnows who don't care about the content of other's works and only want that upvote. I hope i am wrong.

Sort:  

Good question. To most i believe it's a great place to write whatever you want whilst remaining courteous. Full of interesting and friendly open people.
And
as a side note you also earn money. Great yes or no?
Yes It is a pyramid scheme but so what? so is Bitcoin and both have a long long way to go before getting anywhere near saturated.

It is great, and i can be nice @roop ...the whole idea of chasing after people blew me away so i wanted to ask... your reply is greatly appreciated...i decided to not worry about the money part, and just publish some of my stuff

I thought I had found some genuine souls also but turned out some unfollowed me after they got a few upvotes or maybe they did not like my content. Very disheartening but it is what it is. Most things in life are a choice so, for now, I'm choosing to stay to keep posting my crazy cat pics, nature pics, a song or two that is shared (and given credit), quirky stories and anything else. Whether I get an upvote or not, me and my crazy cats are staying for now.

No ma'am. I went through and unfollowed everyone that didn't follow me, and i may have made a mistake. There is so much crazy energy in here, and i am still sorting it out. I was especially interested in your ghost hunting and i apologize. I got upset about that chasing after whales stuff, and wasn't even thinking about you.

I followed quite a few, and when i noticed i wasn't followed back & that we gotta have followers to make money...that pic comment i made was aimed at the nurse practioner lady that left a link to meme on my post and didn't even upvote & didn't follow me back... i am still working on my people skills Miss @deerjay :) ghosties are easy peasy

Yeah, I get feelings of apprehension putting some of my life "out there". I know my followers wax and wane but I guess that is all part of this place called steemit. I can tell by the numbers and try not to focus on the names so much cause I can't imagine even trying to keep up with that. I notice a lot of photography is just people posting pics from image sites...and they get tons of votes. I have people vote and follow and not leave a comment and vice versa so maybe it all evens out in the end. LOL...most ghosties anyway.

I think I got myself a bit upset about the same thing your post is about . I think I did unfollow two people because they looked like all they post is scammer stuff. I think you are right about the energies on here. I think a couple people unfollowed me too but too but I'm still gonna follow them cause I like some of their content. I'm playing catch up today...was sick yesterday and went to bed early..ugh!

i am so grateful that you understand...i am trying so hard to work on my liabilities....hope you heal fast Miss @deerjay :) looking forward to Ur posts

i decided to not worry about pay because the writing is a hobby to keep my mind occupied since i am no longer in college so i need to just chill :)

Learn more about blockchain technology friend.

I watched so many videos trying to understand what that is exactly, and just decided to publish some of my stuff and learn as i go. That is left brain strong stuff, and i am a right brainer. Do you have a decent link @palani???

I think you will love blockchain, because it will f%$k the system like you say, or fix the system like I like to say :)

i hope so...thanx @palani :) i am on that first wave so i am on the tear down the bad team...you must be on the making the new team :) we gotta work together

i dont want to get accused for spamming friend, but you can google "blockchain technology for beginners". check blockgeeks

thanx so much... i still need to learn what spamming is so i guess i will google that too.... Blessed Be @palani :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @paigemoore! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48