How to Star Wars!?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A quick -' how to' - guide for the clueless concerning Star Wars.

Let me start with the first question; "Should you watch Star Wars?"

  • Yes 😉

But the most important thing, for people to actually enjoy it and not get confuzzled, is this second question that I get asked a lot: "In what order should I watch Star Wars?"

  • These are the questions that many people ask themselves that never got into watching or were not part of the initial Star Wars hype. The question I get the most, after their weary eyed glances when they start to think about watching all the movies, is where they should start. Often the sheer bulk of movies make them accept the fact that they never saw it/got into it, for whatever reason and not touch on that subject again. So that prompted me to sit down and write you a: 'how to' guide to introduce you into the world of Star Wars in a way that you can easily oversee it all.

Just start the way the movies appeared in:

Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope
Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
Star Wars: Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

It gives you the right feel and reason why people got so into it. Remember that this genre had not been particularly popular with larger audiences and was quite a risk to bring to the screen. This was also the main reason why they started out with part four, because it had a better storyline that would hopefully appeal to a large audience. It was also true that parts IV, V and VI did not require the technology for special effects the way that was available some twenty years later when George Lucas followed up with:

Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace
Star Wars: Episode II: Attack of the Clones
Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

I was let down by the acting, the overdoing of special effects and a major part of the storyline, that did not come to life for me as I had fiercely hoped it would. So, in order for you to enjoy the Star Wars experience, this is exactly the reason why most people will tell you to start with part four, five and six. Is it all crap? No, I wouldn't go so far, I just think the makers got overzealous and had too much at their disposal. I believe the best results are gotten when you have fewer resources, not an overabundance. (But this is just my own humble opinion.)

Not to start an entire discussion between myself and hard-core fans but part seven and eight undid much of the disappointment I felt about a certain character that was poorly displayed in part 1,2 and 3. This time we got to see someone do it right. And although there's one burning question that has went on unanswered, I will patiently wait for episode IX to see it all unfold. 🙂

Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens
Star Wars: Episode VIII: The Last Jedi

"But Andrea! Where does Rogue One fit into all this?"

  • Rogue One takes place before episode IV: A New Hope; the title you're supposed to start with.

"But Andrea, shouldn't we watch that one first then?"

  • You can, if you want to but it doesn't really make a difference since it stands on its own and doesn't have to be seen first in order to get the rest. If I were you I would watch it after part I, II and III to actually see some good acting and less ridiculous scenario. 🙄

And of course, when you're done with that, you can go to the theatre near you and see SOLO! 😎

Solo.jpg

Original Solo film poster

Sort:  

Haha toch een handleiding voor ons stelletje starwars noobs hehe.. :)

@anouk.nox dat gaat nu helemaal goedkomen.😎👍🏻😂

It is the only one I have not seen in theatre. I am vintage enough to have enjoyed the original saga on theatres. And I resist to a solo that is not Harrison. Honestly Han and Leia.... Not there... Will give it a chance of course. I have watched original trilogy countless times but the rest like once or twice tops.

I was a bit let down by Solo. It was good enough but I thought it was played very safe. Expected a little more from Emilia Clarke too.
Lando was amazing though, love that character!
All in all it was enjoyable and gives some nice insight into the character of Solo. Just ignore that it’s not Ford playing the lead; the new guy is actually pretty good.😉👍🏻

I will give it a chance. I just love Empire and do not want to see a Solo flirting eith anyone else loool know Leia jealous haha. Some characters you see them with a face and it is difficult, but wont be biased, will try to have fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25