Sympathy from daughter

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My daughter saw me taking photos for my steemit post and felt sorry for the camera I was using. I have 2 that I use, one is an Insignia DSC1110A and the other is a Fujifilm A205. I've had both of these cameras for over 5 years. I am very happy with both of them. They are simple to use and perform well considering I've dropped them several times.

The reason she felt sorry for me was that the Insignia (which I use most because it has a larger memory card) has a problem. The lens does not extend all the way and I have to pull on it. If the lens doesn't extend out all the way, the camera won't work. I did try to fix it but to no avail, so I just pull the lens out when I want to use it.

DSCF0193.JPG

This is the Insignia, notice the lens doesn't retract all the way. This is from me dropping it once to often.

DSCF0194.JPG

Back side of Insignia (notice not may buttons)

P1012866.JPG

This the Fujifilm camera front view.

P1012867.JPG

This the rear view (again notice very few buttons)

Now this is the camera she loaned me. It is a Olympus Pen PL1.

DSCF0190.JPG

DSCF0192.JPG

DSCF0191.JPG

Take a look at all the buttons. The only thing I know how to work is the strap. The first time I tried to take a picture, I didn't know about the lens cap. Yes, I did take a picture finally.

I thanked her but I have a feeling, I will be giving it back. I guess it's true, 'You can't teach an old dog new tricks'. Also I'm afraid I will drop it.

Thank you for reading.

@originalworks

steem quake.jpeg

Sort:  

wait a minute.. you took my camera??? lol some old man got it for me for Christmas, no biggie 😝

Don't use it --- lose it. lol

I bet if you took some time to learn it, you would love it.

Funny your comment just showed up because I left a comment on your monday photo post. I was playing with the camera today and tried to take a b/w photo. It was not good. I have read some of the manual but there's alot to learn.

Well just take a normal colored picture, and use GIMP to make it black and white. I use GIMP all the time. Its easy to use, open source, and FREE!

You just click >colors>desaturate and its now monochrome :)

https://www.gimp.org/

I installed gimp about a week ago. I used it to create the logo (steem quake). I am also trying to learn how to use it, just like the camera. Thanks for the tip, I didn't know about the effect you pointed out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51