Repotting the root bound mint

in #life7 years ago

DSCF0127.JPG

DSCF0128.JPG

Earlier I got this bright idea to fertilize all the plants, I over did it and now I am cleaning up my mess. Lesson learned. Don't over fertilize.

As I was culling through the burnt sections of the mint, I found there was roots on roots. Solution was to re pot the root bound mint. A good thing was that there was a small section that was not burnt so re potting was easy.

I selected another pot with fresh soil, hopefully this survives.

Sort:  

Mint is hard to kill. In some Gardens it's considered a weed. I Grodin containers because it could spread onto my lawn. In the summertime I make iced tea and had a big sprig of mint. It's also good for decorating fruit platters.

You are so correct. This plant was grown from a clipping of a plant I started when we moved here, that was over 20 years ago. The plant spread all over the area except were there was grass growing. I almost had it eradicated because I stopped watering that section. I took a clipping about 3 years ago and put it in this pot. Like you I realized that I couldn't plant it in the ground. Since then, I have pulled up chunks of this plant and gave them to neighbors. I've done some bad things to this plant and it survives.

Uh oh - you gave mint another chance at life. It will repay you with endless mint for drinks, teas, and more ;)

~ Kevin

Just bit your tongue, I planted a clipping in your backyard so you will suffer with endless mint too. BTW it's chocolate mint. Now be quite and enjoy your mint julep. Have a nice day.

LOL. Noooooo! I'm going to die of mint overload!

Sorry it's your cross to bear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82