Public health nurse’s journey : Touching Lola Milagros’ life.

in #life7 years ago

EF6ABCB0-7CA1-45C2-A565-AD8B70C5FA23.jpeg

​My work in the barrio this week gives me such a fulfilling experience. Even though the place was located in a far flung area, largely rice field with no settlements, my experience feeds my heart with great joy. While I’m on my way to the barrio, I just think that it would only be one of those ordinary weeks I usually spend: taking one’s Blood Pressure, examining and somehow mingling with strange faces when conducting home visits, pregnant tracking and initiating health teachings; however, this week is different.

F6E42AEF-9018-46C5-9CBC-C47CF84284BD.jpeg

22D27038-1EDF-41AA-8C74-F24B990E66DA.jpeg

​My co-nurse and I rode on a pedicab to go to our respective places. A barangay health worker named Nanay Rosita guided us throughout the barrio alleys. Transportation is meager on that place. People usually rely on pedicabs, a bicycle with a one-cycled seat attached. The first few families we sat with were just typical families- mother, father, children, and neighbors living stably.

5891D250-D954-454E-B083-2BBA69CA3DF2.jpeg

​My attention is drawn to an aged lady, fetching water in the pump . I walked to her and said “Good morning po Lola” and she replied us with a smile. Finally, I asked her if she would like us to take her BP and fortunately, we were warmly welcomed. She invited us to come in and we talk. Her name is Lola Milagros, an 73-year-old widow who lives with her blind daughter, a son-in-law and a grandson in a simple dwelling.

68B40CE5-9B98-4BBB-AEB2-32FB5AB4A1AE.jpeg

​She and her blind daughter were only at home then while the son-in-law was working in the ricefield. I was moved by such compassion towards their living. Yes it’s true that if I were to compare them to other meager families, they are far lucky since Bae Milagros receives her Ph5, 000.00 monthly from her daughter working abroad yet money does not matter most to the way the latter raises her family. She, who supposedly be taken good care of, be resting most of the time, is still doing even the hard household chores. When I asked her what pains her, aside from the physical aches she feels due to her aging, is the pity she feels for her blind daughter. She may not have expressed directly those words but they were implied to the way she related her stories. She said that most of their money was spent for the medication of her daughter and it feared her who would take care of the latter once she would pass away. It’s also delightful that she accepts the fact that in a moment, she would have return to her Creator. She submitted everything to Him.

3324DE45-C5C4-4386-9BA1-FECF0F4BDE05.jpeg

A7934B2D-D40E-4D8B-8100-489CE1A4796B.jpeg

​She also mentioned that she is having seizure episodes at sometimes. But she has not made any medical consultation hence she has never been under medication. She opts to spend the money sent to her for daily living and meds for her blind daughter. To help her still in some way, we convened her neighbors then taught them first aid management should they see Lola Milagros have seizure attacks.

453FD959-090C-46C8-8468-D2434511155F.jpeg

​She kept on telling her stories and it astonished me that her memory is so sharp that she can even remember the exact dates of those memorable times in her life such as her birthday, her husband’s birth and death day. She is really friendly and easy to go along with. She smiles anytime she speaks.

​We were about to leave and her blind daughter pleaded us to return the next day. Lola Milagros took us to their doorway. While bidding our farewell to them, tears began to form in the eyes of the old lady. As I gazed upon her, she was wiping her face. I talked to her “Akin Bae? Ag kayo unaakis.” (What’s bothering you, Bae? Don’t cry.) She just replied “Ganito lang talaga ako, iyakin.” (“I’m just emotional”). It puzzled me what her tears meant for: is it of joy that we entertain her for awhile or sorrow for our departure?

​The next day, we returned to their domicile. Stood before my sight was an old lady sweeping their yard. I hesitated to approach her because I was not sure if she were really Lola Milagros so we entered their yard and her son-in-law welcomed us. We asked for Lola Milagros and he immediately pointed her to us. We also saw her blind daughter laundrying. (Ah! At this moment I’m writing this, it made me feel guilty of not paying attention to the blind daughter. Only now that I realize that she also longed us to see her then but we abruptly paved our way to see her mother. I considered myself accountable of her disappointment towards us. She’s not able to see the beauty of everything yet we still deprived her of our joyous approaches which she can sense.)

4CD6D05C-88E3-4B5C-8D39-D4F4394CA5B3.jpeg

​Lastly, we took pictures with Lola Milagros and as I glanced upon her image in the camera, her happiness was overflowing. One by one, my comrades went off and only Lola Milagros and I were left in their yard. Again, I noticed her eyes with tears but with a smile on her face. She wiped her bare hands to her clothes and she embraced me. It was the most touching part of my day and of my life as well. Her embrace implied joy and gratitude. I never expected that in that day we would be able to touch one’s life. Even for little while, I achieved fulfillment.

Thank you for reading my post! 😊

If you haven't vote your witness yet, please vote Terry now.
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Other witnesses @rcarter.witness @cloh76.witness @precise @blocktrades @curie

82F78FB0-77D0-4FA6-9BB4-33E4F82E05B1.jpeg

Sort:  

You did a great job Manong @oscargabat!!👏🏻 And for lola, she’s blessed because you helped her in some ways, small things can be of a big help to other people. Some neighbors are not aware how to handle if she has seizure attacks so atleast they already knew because you taught them how to help her when they see the condition. It’s hard if people around you don’t understand what it is and they can’t even help you but being aware of it, they can actually save a life.

@iamqueenlevita this is why health education is very important nowadays manang. I am so blessed meeting Lola Milagros and I was moved by her story. She made me realized that in this world, we don’t need to complain on what we have, I think we should be contented at all. There’s a lot of unfortunate people out there that no matter how difficult their situation is, they embraced their life with contentment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oscargabat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65