What are the benefits people get when they become digital minimalists

in #life3 years ago

By digital maximalists who are after every new phone that comes out, it may sound unusual to be able to get the most out of my present phone and be satisfied with it... But there are few things I enjoy more than the pleasure and joy that comes from optimising my phone for my needs.

It feels as delicious as eating chocolate to configure my phone for optimal usability while keeping it minimal in my life.

It's not because I enjoy talking on the phone. Because I enjoy the results of the configuration. As a result, once the configuration is complete, my life improves.
My level of productivity is increasing. I'm putting forth more effort. I'm putting extra money aside. I spend more time with my friends and family. My mental health is getting better. My physical condition is becoming better. My life is becoming more pleasurable.

image.png

These are some of the advantages that come with becoming a digital minimalist...

I used to call myself a digital maximalist until I became a digital minimalist.
I've always owned the highest costly 13" or 15" MacBook Pro available. I was always the proud owner of the most attractive iPhone of the time. And last but not least, the most beautiful iPad. And then there's the Apple Pencil. And a set of expensive noise-cancelling headphones. Also, certain wireless earphones, which enhance comfort while participating in sports. Aside from these, there's the gaming PC, 4K monitor, mechanical keyboard, other peripherals, Nikon camera, Apple TV, Kindle Oasis, and a slew of other modern items including Google Glass.
Consider how much they'd set you back.

It was only the expense of ownership that you had in mind. AppleCare, protective cases, screen protectors, and pricey backpacks are among the additional charges.

To summarise, the majority of my income (that is, my father's income) is spent on the best electronic items available.
There are, of course, psychological costs. One of them is the fear of getting robbed when I take my electronics somewhere. Another cost is the anxiety of hiding something in the trunk of my automobile. Another cost is the stress of continually having to maintain these equipment, so I don't have to pay to repair them (how far).

Waiting for the next great new edition, most significantly, has a pleasant psychological cost. For instance, I was continuously thinking about next March. Also in October of the following year. That's when everything would be perfect, I reasoned.
My life has become considerably more affordable as a digital minimalist.

I no longer require a phone with a large screen and all-day battery since I am cautious of my technology usage. A computer with a processor that can compete with Deep Blue is used.

And, because I don't use my devices nearly as frequently as I used to, I'm no longer concerned with what's cool and cutting edge. Actually, I'm not sure what's fantastic anymore. Apple launches new products from time to time, and I'm not always aware of it.

One of the first productivity advice I tell people as a productivity writer is to stop using social media.
I'm not proposing this because it depresses you (though it does), or because it polarises your political opinions and perspectives (though both are true). The reason I propose this is because social media takes a lot of time.

image.png

Are you lying on the couch or in bed all this time because you've been engrossed in social media? Isn't it then time to try something new? You can listen to music, read a book, or do something completely different. However, you can accomplish this by avoiding social media.

I decided to become a digital minimalist and remove my social media accounts around a year and a half ago. Since then, I've got a lot more time.
Before I eliminated social media, I probably only read 5 novels per year. I read exactly 77 books in the first year after deleting it. This year, I'll be 80 years old.
We save a lot of time as digital minimalists by being clever about checking our email and perusing the web. We only use the internet when we have a specific reason. For hours, we haven't had access to the internet. Without a doubt, this has aided my comprehension of the book.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32